Multiple touch attacks - clarification needed


Rules Questions


I'm curious about touch attacks and how they are limited (if they are indeed). I'm running a combat grind against a melee heavy party with pretty high ACs, but not that stellar when it comes to touch AC (as usual).

They are about to run into two Lamia clerics backed by some rough guys and summons as additional muscle. I intend to use the clerics as quick debuff with their touch attacks to lower saves hamper the party, after initial spell barrage and then disengage thanks to mobility and superior speed and follow with more spells after that. Now toward questions.

Provided that I have three attacks thanks to BAB...

Can I pile on single target melee attack, Touch of Idiocy (charge held from previous round), Vision of Madness and wisdom drain in one turn?

Can I use Lamia's Wisdom Drain multiple times in one turn provided that I forgo the melee and attack with touch exclusively (Lamia uses it as secondary to melee and claws, so I take it that it doesn't have to be activated like cleric abilities)?

One a little to the side - does lamia Wisdom Drain follow after every touch attack delivered, or you have to choose which effect you want to deliver? For example If I have an inflict spell, do I drain wisdom when I hit, or not? It feels tad strong, but one never knows...

Sczarni

I don't think the rules allow for this. Touch attacks are meant to be used, but if you hold the charge if you touch anything it goes off. Its not like you can have one spell on one hand and another spell on another hand, but even then you'd be taking massive two weapon fighting penalties.


Short Answer: No

Long answer: you get a free touch attack the turn you cast, after that, attempting to touch is subject to the usual rules for melee attacks,

but let's say you are trying to touch someone as part of a full round action

Well, activating visions of madness requires a standard action to activate, just like pretty much every cleric touch power (and sorcerer bloodline touches, etc)

Therefore, you would need a standard action to touch your opponent with your charge, and a standard action to activate your vision of madness.


The thing is that Lamia's Wisdom drain is not a spell and doesn't take an action to activate. Technically Lamia can drain wisdom effortlessly by touching anything. Spells are spoecifically forbidden from being held if you cast another spell, Cleric touch abilities are stated as taking standard actions to execute, but they aren't spells. Touch attack of a monster is another thing entirely (not even an action, you just touch something during your attack routine, yes?).

So having a witheld charge, you touch anything and it goes off, having touch attack means you can drain anything you can touch, cleric's touch attack is not in conflict with either...

Please note that touch spells are specifically said to go off when you touch someone else, even unintentionally. Which brings up a question whether it's possible to steal held cure charge by slapping the cleric when he's rushing by.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Lamia's wisdom drain is a supernatural "melee touch attack," hence it should follow the rules for any standard attack action, and it does not activate simply whenever the creature touches something.
The Cleric touch ability is a Spell-like ability, and follows the rules for those (p. 221 CRB), essentially acts as a spell with casting time of one action.
I would rule that the Lamia could use the Wisdom Drain when making a touch attack with a withheld charge, but could not use the Cleric touch ability.


Well, and now does it allow multiple attacks? Lamia can attack twice with dagger, twice with claws and once with touch on a full attack. Can it swap touch for dagger and attack with it instead twice for example?


I would say that it does not allow multiple attacks. It is a natural attack, much like a slam or bite attack. I would allow the Lamia to use the touch at full BAB if it did not make other weapon or natural attacks (it is using the touch as its primary and only attack).

I should also clarify my last post: the Lamia can utilize its wisdom drain touch attack only with a held-charge spell, not every time it casts a touch attack spell (the touch spell allows a free touch as part of the casting, not a free touch-attack)


Well, monster touch attacks could use some clarification in the FAQ :-)

I'll probably use these in combination with lamia's spring attack, so mostly it will be eld charge with cleric attack...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple touch attacks - clarification needed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.