Following Step / AoO


Rules Questions


Okay, saw another thread on this but it seemed to be derailed w/o a final consensus:

Does the 10' movement from Following Step provoke AoO's, or is it exempt from them since you're using the action Step Up provides? I'm personally thinking it provokes, but wanted to check with others.


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Okay, saw another thread on this but it seemed to be derailed w/o a final consensus:

Does the 10' movement from Following Step provoke AoO's, or is it exempt from them since you're using the action Step Up provides? I'm personally thinking it provokes, but wanted to check with others.

We have ruled that it does provoke at our table, because you aren't forced to take 10' of movement, it only lets you take up to 10' if you want (and against a single opponent, you can move 10' without drawing an attack of opportunity in many different ways. Especially since you only get the movement when he has moved away from you).


Yes it does provoke AoO's.

The step up feat does not prevent an AoO (in and of itself). The step up feat lets you take a 5' step, which like all 5' steps does not provoke an AoO.

Following step lets you move up to 10'. Movement does provoke AoO's.


Okay, and you pick one or the other, yes? 5' step or 10' movement, not both? If I choose 5' step rather than 10' movement, am I considered to therefore be using the Step Up feat rather than Following Step, and thus cannot take a 5' step on my next turn?


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
DrakeRoberts wrote:
Okay, and you pick one or the other, yes? 5' step or 10' movement, not both? If I choose 5' step rather than 10' movement, am I considered to therefore be using the Step Up feat rather than Following Step, and thus cannot take a 5' step on my next turn?

None of the movement taken counts against you whether you take 10' of movement or only 5'.

"any movement you make using this feat does not subtract any distance from your movement during your next turn."


DrakeRoberts wrote:
Okay, and you pick one or the other, yes? 5' step or 10' movement, not both? If I choose 5' step rather than 10' movement, am I considered to therefore be using the Step Up feat rather than Following Step, and thus cannot take a 5' step on my next turn?

Following Step is simply an improvement to Step Up. So now when you use Step Up, you can choose to either take a 5-foot step (does NOT provoke AoOs) or move 10 feet (DOES provoke AoOs).

However, if you choose the 5-foot step, since your Step Up is still improved by Following Step, you can still take a 5 foot step on your following turn as well as keep all your movement.


Thread resurrection!

Can you use acrobatics and tumble those 2 squares of movement, 10 feet?


I can't find anything saying you can't. Using Acrobatics to move through threatened squares doesn't seem to require an action (in and of itself, OR to be paired with one - i.e. a Move action); the Acrobatics check is done simply as part of the movement - and whichever action the movement happens to be part of. Therefore, movement taken as an Immediate Action seems to allow rolling Acrobatics to move through threatened squares.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Huh. The thought that Following Step would provoke an AoO never occurred to me. I've always played it as a 10ft version of a 5ft step. That really limits its utility.

So...

Say you try to use Following Step against an opponent with a reach weapon. You two are the only combatants. Do people honestly believe that with Step Up, you don't provoke, but with Following Step, you do?

That doesn't make sense to me.


Because you don't... the action is "step up", it is just extended, as per the first words used "When using the Step Up feat to follow an adjacent foe" so to provoke from following step, you'd have to provoke from step up, which you don't... So it's "yes" to both" or "no" to both, and since step up says no provoking, following step doesn't either.

The Concordance

I've always run Following Step as using Step Up's 5' step, so in essence moving 10' during a 5' step action. No provoke. It isn't very clear IMHO

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Following Step / AoO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.