Escaping a corpse after being swallowed whole


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I just noticed that the wand rules state that wands can be used while swallowed whole.

The swallowed whole rules state that you can cut your way out with a light piercing or slashing weapon--implying that, that is the only way out aside from beating a grapple check.

What happens if I activate my fireball wand inside the creature? Is there really no way for me to blast my way out of him?

What happens if I kill him in this fashion? Am I automatically freed or do I need wait for someone to come along and cut me out before I asphyxiate?


The swallow whole rules are already a bit iffy. You have Large sized creatures swallowing small creatures cutting their way out of a stomach and that somehow ISN'T causing them to die from bloodloss or dumping stomach acids into the rest of the body, etc.

So in this corner case, I'd say the body functions cease on death, and it's easy to climb out the mouth or blast your way out.
DM adjudicate slightly in favor of the surviving player character.

If I were playing with a kick-in-the-door style of game, I'd describe it as the stomach blasting out to reveal the PC's stunned and mortified expression covered in gore.

And I'd expect the obligatory "And I thought they smelled bad on the outside!"

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

The real question is: What if you activate a wand of animate dead while inside a dead enemy? Can you ride around inside your new undead minion?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I've actually done that before, Fatespinner. My juju oracle rode around in her purple worm zombie with her other undead minions like it was an aircraft carrier.

We sunk hole cities together.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Note that combat maneuvers against helpless targets are automatically successful, as though you had rolled a natural 20. As such, once the swallowing creature is dead (and therefore helpless), you auto-succeed the grapple check to get out.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Jiggy wrote:
Note that combat maneuvers against helpless targets are automatically successful, as though you had rolled a natural 20. As such, once the swallowing creature is dead (and therefore helpless), you auto-succeed the grapple check to get out.

But it still takes two checks/rounds though, right? One to get back to the mouth, and one toe get out.


Rules doesn't cover, at my table I would rule that if the Fireball does sufficient damage, not only is the stomach burst open, but the character inside is ejected violently in a stream of blood, acid, intestines etc.

I would also rule that the monster a got 50% more fireball damage for swallowing a handgrenade, and the player would be subject to extra damage from acid and falling out, on top of the regular fireball damage

If the damage was not enough to kill the monster, it fights on with its stomach burst open.


Jiggy wrote:
Note that combat maneuvers against helpless targets are automatically successful

Does this also apply to objects, which is what a dead monster is? A lot of the rules use words like "foe", "opponent" or "ememy"; I'm not sure those accurately describe heaps of dead meat and bones.


my only addition would be that fireball is not an explosion there is no force, only temperature involved (at least this is the way I understand the spell).
While you may do some serious damage, it would not help you to get free any faster, altough you can try to eat your way out as the stomach wall should be cross.
If the creature is dead you should normally still need a piercing or slashing weapon to free yourself, or succeed on some kind of check to get out of the mouth again.

All this is of course majorly houseruling.


Richard Leonhart wrote:
my only addition would be that fireball is not an explosion there is no force, only temperature involved g.

Ahh true. Fire, not concussion.

Well in that case, strike what I wrote. I have no idea how to rule the situation...


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Well what about things like stomach acids? Do you still take acid damage (from those creatures that deal acid damage) while still trapped inside once it has died?


VRMH wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
Note that combat maneuvers against helpless targets are automatically successful
Does this also apply to objects, which is what a dead monster is? A lot of the rules use words like "foe", "opponent" or "ememy"; I'm not sure those accurately describe heaps of dead meat and bones.

Either you auto succeed on your combat maneuver against the dead creature OR the newly created 'object' has no way of keeping you inside it any more since the 'dead' object no longer has the swallow ability.

Either interpretation, your out.

Ravingdork wrote:
Well what about things like stomach acids? Do you still take acid damage (from those creatures that deal acid damage) while still trapped inside once it has died?

I would think the general rules on acids in the game would cover this, assuming the creatures entry includes acid damage. Otherwise it would seem to be a GM call.

Contributor

Once had a druid in one of my games get swallowed by a purple worm.

One of the items she had with her was Circe's "turn someone into a pig if you can get them to eat this" potion.

She uncorked it in the purple worm's stomach, leading to a giant purple pig wandering across the landscape.

She was also able to communicate with the pig and get it to spit her back up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Escaping a corpse after being swallowed whole All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.