Wildshape and DR


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Would a Fey druid lose their DR/Cold Iron in wild shape RAW?


No. You don't actually change creature type so it would remain.


Are you sure Wraithstrike?

Transmutation (Poly) school wrote:


While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

The reason I question it is that the DR isn't a "fey trait" or "fey feature" and so not granted by type.


I will admit that I did not check the bestiary. I assumed by the way the first post was written that fey had cold iron DR. I did notice that all of the examples listed are sensory based things though. I don't think DR is form based though. I think they should have given us more examples.

To answer the question I am not sure. :)


Bleh, I was hoping you had a link ;)

Unfortunately DR could be from thick skin or some "other" fluffy description (mystical connection to nature or what have you) and given that DR is typically EX or SU, those are both denied by the poly school.

EDIT: Did a quick search through the forums for the terms (wildshape/beast shape/DR/Damage reduction) and didn't see anything regarding this. May be FAQ button time.

Contributor

What do you mean by "fey druid"?

Liberty's Edge

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
What do you mean by "fey druid"?

Satyr in this case, but really this could apply to any creature with DR from race rather than class (obviously a barbarian multiclasser would keep his dr)

Contributor

Jason and I think the "you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form" rule covers it. If you're not in satyr form, you don't get your satyr racial DR.

(Note that it says "form," not "type," so changing form is sufficient.)


That works for me. :)

Liberty's Edge

Okie dokie, thanks! Was not sure if the DR was (ex)/(su) or more generic like a human's bonus skill points

Contributor

Well, the Bestiary says damage reduction is "(Ex or Su)," so there ya go. (Not that we call out human skill points as one thing, the other thing, or no thing, anywhere at all...)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wildshape and DR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.