Time stop, Borrow Future, and rounds perspective


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Something happened in my last game, a wizard tried to cast borrow future twice in a row for his teammate, with a time stop in between. quite interesting but i'm not sure if he can do this:

- So the round begins with a wizard casting a word spell(UM):[Selected(Boost) Borrow Future(Boost)], giving him and each team mate a full-round action immediately.

- With his full-round action, he casts [maximized Time Stop] (with a metamagic rod, of course)

- Now, he got 5 more rounds. For his 5th action, he readies an action:
"as soon as my time stop ends, I cast [Selected(Boost) Borrow Future(Boost)] again" (which can only happen once per round).

Here's my statement:
"Because your time stop has already expired, you are now in the same round as you cast the previous Borrow Future, thus it has no effect"

But here's the Wizard's opinion:
"My time stop gives me another 5 more rounds, which 'refreshes' my use of Borrow Future. When I cast my second Borrow Future, I have already moved into a new round."

Can anyone please tell me if I'm right, or can borrow future be cast again after a time stop because it's already a new round? Any ideas would be appreciated.

(1) he learned those words of power from feat Experimental Caster
(2) If anyone gets curious: None of them would stagger because of RING OF FEROCIOUS ACTION (non-orcs use the rings with UMD)

Related info:

Definition of a round:
Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions.

Effect Word: Borrow Future
BORROW FUTURE (TIME)
School transmutation; Level alchemist 4, bard 4, magus 4, sorcerer/wizard 4, summoner 4
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
Target Restrictions selected
The target of a wordspell with this effect word takes either a standard action and a move action or a full-round action immediately after a wordspell with this effect word is cast (maximum once per round). The target skips its next turn, but any effects that would occur on its turn or spell effects that would expire on its turn occur normally. The target is not helpless on its next turn, but can take no actions.

Boost: Instead of losing its next turn, the target of a wordspell with this effect word is staggered on its next turn.

Target Word: selected
SELECTED
Level 0
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
A wordspell with this target word affects a single target within range. If the wordspell deals energy damage, this word creates a ray that requires a ranged touch attack to hit, or it can be used as a melee touch attack with no range (decided by the wordcaster when the wordspell is cast). If it is used as a melee touch attack and the attack misses, the wordcaster can hold the charge and try again with subsequent attacks.

Boost: Instead of one target, the wordspell affects up to one target per caster level, no two of which can be more than 30 feet apart. The range increases to medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level). If used with an effect word that deals energy damage, the wordcaster must make multiple ray attacks for each target (they cannot be made as melee touch attacks). This boosted target word increases the level of all the effect words in the spell by 3 levels.

RING OF FEROCIOUS ACTION
PRICE
3,000 GP
AURA faint transmutation CL 5th WEIGHT —
This ring allows its wearer to persevere through physical or
mental trauma that hampers his actions. The ring has 5 charges,
which are renewed each day. At the start of his turn, if the
wearer is staggered, as a free action he may spend a charge
to activate the ring and ignore the staggered condition until his
next turn.

The Exchange

once per round


If I read your post right, he didn't actually enter another round. Rather he has simply sped up what he is doing in his own round to massive levels. I am assuming this is what initiative looks like.

1. Wizard Casts Borrow Future
a. Teammates get 1 full round action.
b. Wizard casts Time Stop
aa. Wizard spends 4 round mucking about before casting Borrow Future again.
2. Everyone else in combat acts.

Since step 2 never happened, he has not actually left a single round of actions. If you read the spell Time Stop, it even specifically states that it doesn't actually halt time, but rather speeds the caster up to absurd levels. So the second cast should fail, looking like this.

1. Wizard Casts Borrow Future
a. Borrow Future checks to see if identical spell has been cast since last time 1 was reached. Since answer is no, proceed to 1b.
b. Teammates get 1 full round action.
c. Wizard casts Time Stop
aa. Wizard spends 4 round mucking about before casting Borrow Future again.
bb. Borrow Future checks to see if identical spell has been cast since 1 was reached. Since the answer is yes, the spell fails and we move to 2
2. Everyone else in combat acts.


Wanted to argue against the wizards wish, but it got real complicated, with subjective nested rounds and the speed of time.

Just rule that he can't, because you are the DM, end of story. It is cheesy.

Dark Archive

up

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Time stop, Borrow Future, and rounds perspective All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.