Multiple, simultaneous bardic performances?


Rules Questions


The 4th level Bard spell, Virtuoso Performance, allows a Bard to maintain two Bardic performances at once. Is there any other way to achieve this? The last line of the spell says, "Virtuoso performance does not stack with any other method of maintaining simultaneous bardic performances." which suggests that there are other ways to do this, but I haven't been able to find any yet. 3rd party or 3.5 sources are (generally) legal in my game, if that helps.


The Shadowbard spell is another one in PF.

For 3.5, I know the Seeker of the Song allows you to use two performances simultaneously. There are probably a ton of other sources here, 3.5 is a big system.


Exquisite Accompaniment spell works as shadowbard

Don't say they don't stack so, shadowbard + Exquisite Accompaniment = 3 songs?


The title had me imagining a Scott Pilgrim style bard duel, as they roll opposing perform checks to buff their allies and debuff their enemies.


You think the bard being his own choir impresses us?


I'd like to bring this question back to the forefront if I can. If there's been any rules updates that I'm missing in this post, please reply and let me know.

Right, I did see the spells mentioned in this forum already, but something is still confusing me about how many bardic performance types a bard can have going at one time. In the main rules for bardic performance, it states that "A bard cannot have more than one bardic performance in effect at one time." However, I'm looking at prestige classes like the Argent Dramaturge from the Adventurer's Guide which states that "An argent performance counts as a bardic performance when determining how many performances the argent dramaturge can have in effect at one time."

How can prestige classes like the Argent Dramaturge or the Sphere Singer say that they stack to determine how many performances a character can have in effect at one time if the regular bardic performance essentially doesn't allow a character to have multiple types of performances going at one time? ^_^()


Lunar Mage wrote:
How can prestige classes like the Argent Dramaturge or the Sphere Singer say that they stack to determine how many performances a character can have in effect at one time [...]

They don't say that, though, do they?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A Duettist and her familiar can eventually maintain two performances at once.

The Prestige class is telling you that you cannot have both a bardic performance and another kind of performance active at the same time (unless you use a spell/ other power).


Those alternate performance types are counted toward the limit on number of bardic performances active. That limit happens to nearly always be one.


KingOfAnything wrote:

A Duettist and her familiar can eventually maintain two performances at once.

The Prestige class is telling you that you cannot have both a bardic performance and another kind of performance active at the same time (unless you use a spell/ other power).

Thanks. I figured that out a little bit later after thinking about the wording a bit more. ^_^() I do appreciate all the responses!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple, simultaneous bardic performances? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.