Arcane Strike


Rules Questions


My DM and I are trying to figure out whether a spell slot is expended when using the Arcane Strike feat to add damage. The wording doesn't say it does but we'd like clarification to be sure if it is like old 3.5 or different.

Thanks.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.
RH wrote:
The wording doesn't say it does

Mystery solved.


RH wrote:

My DM and I are trying to figure out whether a spell slot is expended when using the Arcane Strike feat to add damage. The wording doesn't say it does but we'd like clarification to be sure if it is like old 3.5 or different.

Thanks.

No. It's just a swift action that anyone who can cast spells can use. No spell expended or even needing to be memorized. A caster can use arcane strike even if they've used every spell they have available.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
No. It's just a swift action that anyone who can cast spells can use. No spell expended or even needing to be memorized. A caster can use arcane strike even if they've used every spell they have available.

Much obliged, Tiny Coffee Golem.


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
RH wrote:

My DM and I are trying to figure out whether a spell slot is expended when using the Arcane Strike feat to add damage. The wording doesn't say it does but we'd like clarification to be sure if it is like old 3.5 or different.

Thanks.

Swift action, no spell slot required.

The "balance" is in the action economy. You can't take a Swift or Immediate action on any round that you increase damage based on this feat. That can get tricky and prevent you from activating certain class features or feats. No Arcane pool activation on a round that you use it (or no extra damage from the feat on a round that you use Arcane Pool), no Immediate action spells like Feather Fall or Timely Inspiration if you used the feat for extra damage, can't use the Swift Action required to reduce Arcane Spell Failure using the Arcane Armor Training (or Mastery) feats, etc.

All in all it is a good feat, but with very terrible side effects at higher levels (when you start using/needing Swift and Immediate actions more and more).


Canthin wrote:
All in all it is a good feat, but with very terrible side effects at higher levels (when you start using/needing Swift and Immediate actions more and more).

Good point, Canthin. Thank you very much.


RH wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
No. It's just a swift action that anyone who can cast spells can use. No spell expended or even needing to be memorized. A caster can use arcane strike even if they've used every spell they have available.
Much obliged, Tiny Coffee Golem.

**tips hat**

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.