Can you use a 2 handed weapon with the Magus spellstrike ability?

Rules Questions

I would like to make a magus using a fauchard.

Yes, you can use a 2 handed weapon with spellstrike. But you can only use spell combat with a 1 handed weapon.


The Exchange

Beware of GM interpretation:

"PRD wrote:
Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell.

Unless you've got more than two hands, you can't be wielding a two-handed weapon at the same time you cast a spell with somatic or material components. However most GMs will allow you to use a free action to take a hand off the weapon, cast, put your hand back on (free action), and attack. As is pointed out in the FAQ you can cast, move, then make the free attack.

Magus: Can a magus use spellstrike (page 10) to cast a touch spell, move, and make a melee attack with a weapon to deliver the touch spell, all in the same round?
So the answer is yes, but a particularly rules-based GM or one who only allows one free action a turn may decide to disallow this.

But as pointed out, you would lose the ability to use spell combat if you have a two-handed weapon and [lots of math and spreadsheets around if you are really interested] you generally do more damage with a one-hand because of that.

So if my magus took exotic weapon profecny bastard sword. I would be able to use spell strike for the channeled spell attack while useing 2 hands on the sword for the bouns to damage. The next round use it 1handed for a regular cast spell and basic attack with the sword. Do I have this correct .

Scarab Sages

The would be be legal.

There is no debate on spellstrike working while two-handing a weapon. Realize, if you cast a touch spell, you can attempt to spellstrike with it the same turn as a free attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you use a 2 handed weapon with the Magus spellstrike ability? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.