There's this purely tecnhical issue that keeps bugging me: i tried searching the forums and looking at the FAQ, but i couldn't find a clear answer.
If have a gnome fighter, what is the spell level of its "speak with animals" spell-like ability?
- "speak with animals" is listed as being bard 3, druid 1, ranger 1
- This FAQ entry does not apply, and it's the closest thing that i found.
I know this could be easily handwaived by the GM with a simple decision, but i just wanted to know if there is an "official" ruling - or if i simply miunderstood the rules.
Thank you for any replies, and kudos to Paizo for their wonderful products!
Some spell-like abilities duplicate spells that work differently when cast by characters of different classes. A monster's spell-like abilities are presumed to be the sorcerer/wizard versions. If the spell in question is not a sorcerer/wizard spell, then default to cleric, druid, bard, paladin, and ranger, in that order.
(Really, i'm just being pedant here)
Hmmm... this is the SLA definition from the monster rules, and also explicitly rerefences "a monster": i guess it might work anyway, if we stretch the definition of "monster" a bit to also include "gnome race".
I guess that's not entirely correct as per the Glossary definition of "monster".
But really, that's OK: i like the "...presumed to be the sorcerer/wizard versions. If the spell in question is not a sorcerer/wizard spell, then default to cleric, druid, bard, paladin, and ranger, in that order." bit, that gives me a rough order of precedence when determining which version is being cast (druid 1, in my example).
Gnomes are monsters from another dimension.
This dimension is known a "First World", a more extreme, vivid world.
In fact, without proper stimulation, the material plane will kill the average gnome, slowly draining them, in a process known as the Bleaching.
Gnomes are intruders on the material plane, which seems to reject them at all times.
The gnome racial entry said "The DC for these spells is equal to 10 + the spell's level + the gnome's Charisma modifier." and that got me thinking.
I know that speak with animals has no saving throw... but hey, i told you it was a purely academical exercise :)
@blackbloodtroll of course your explanation makes sense story-wise, but i was referring to the monster definition as per the Glossary, this.
Again, this is just me being pedant. I already got a good enough response, i was just nitpicking to find a written rule, but that's really not necessary.
Thank you all again!