Clerics domain granted powers


Rules Questions


I haven't played an RPG since college, back in the early 90's, and am trying to get a handle on Pathfinder.

I was looking thru the CRB at the Cleric and their Domain Granted Powers.

My question is, do these 'granted powers' work as spells or are the separate from spells?

If I have the Fire Domain, do I get to cast Fire Bolt as well as my other spells or do I have to choose Fire Bolt as one of my first level spells?

Sorry if this seems a bit to obvious to everyone else. I just want to make sure I am reading the description correctly.

thanks for the help


Edit: forget my complete nonsense-talk

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Your granted powers are either (Sp) or (Su), Spell-like or Supernatural powers, not actual spells. Fire Bolt is listed as an (Sp) ability usable 3+WIS times per day:

Quote:

Spell-Like Abilities (Sp)

Spell-like abilities, as the name implies, are magical abilities that are very much like spells. Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). Spell-like abilities can be dispelled but they cannot be counterspelled or used to counterspell.


mrunderhill wrote:
do these 'granted powers' work as spells or are the separate from spells?

They tell you what type of ability they are. It's the abbreviation in parenthesis just after the name.

mrunderhill wrote:
If I have the Fire Domain, do I get to cast Fire Bolt as well as my other spells or do I have to choose Fire Bolt as one of my first level spells?

Fire Bolt (Sp): "As a standard action, you can unleash a scorching bolt of divine fire from your outstretched hand. You can target any single foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack with this bolt of fire. If you hit the foe, the fire bolt deals 1d6 points of fire damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

The (Sp) means it's a Spell-Like Ability (rather than a supernatural ability or an extraordinary ability).

That tells you if it provokes, works in an antimagic field, etc. (See also Spell-Like Abilities in the combat chapter)

So it's similar to a spell, but not a spell. There's no verbal/somatic/material component, no penalty for arcane spell failure, it's just mental. You still provoke from using it, unless you use it defensively (Concentration check).

Basically, you just point and a beam of fire shoots out. You can do it a set number of times per day. It's totally independent of your spells.

Liberty's Edge

Just to clarify, since everyone else's answers seem to be skipping what you actually asked (sorry if I'm just being obtuse fellow posters...)...

Fire Bolt is NOT one of your spells per day. It isn't added to your spell list, you don't have to memorize it, it is extra. You can use Fire Bolt in addition to any spells you memorize, up to 3+Wis Mod/Day times.

Welcome to Pathfinder and the boards, btw!

EDIT: Sorry, Grick. Totally missed the last line of your post!


Thanks Grick and Darth.

Thats exactly what I was looking for.

Grand Lodge

With (SP) powers like Fire Bolt, I understand that Spell Resistance is still in effect, but what about Saving Throws? Not allowed against Fire Bolt (or similar)? Not clear enough that I could find...

Thanks!

JK

Dark Archive

James Kight 810 wrote:

With (SP) powers like Fire Bolt, I understand that Spell Resistance is still in effect, but what about Saving Throws? Not allowed against Fire Bolt (or similar)? Not clear enough that I could find...

Thanks!

JK

If there is a save, it will be mentioned, and, for most, there is none (balanced by the limited range and damage, for the damaging bolts, or the short duration and touch range, for the 'grave touch,' 'laughing touch' sorts of powers).


Fire Bolt requires a ranged-touch attack. Abilities that require an attack roll generally do not give a saving throw.


James Kight 810 wrote:

With (SP) powers like Fire Bolt, I understand that Spell Resistance is still in effect, but what about Saving Throws? Not allowed against Fire Bolt (or similar)? Not clear enough that I could find...

Thanks!

JK

As it is a spell like ability, SR still applies. As far as an ability having a save, that is completely unrelated to it being supernatural, spell like, or extraordinary.

Unless an ability says it has a save, it does not. Normally this is balanced by such effects requiring an attack roll instead, but sometimes you will see abilities that require both.

Grand Lodge

Thanks for the clarification! Cheers!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clerics domain granted powers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.