Composite Bow question


Rules Questions


If a composite bow adds the Str modifier, does it still use Dex as well?

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

STR is to damage on composites, not to-hit; the DEX modifier is still your to-hit modifier.


Also you have to make sure you pay for the right bow, the Amount of damage a Composite bow adds depends on the rating of it, the price increases based on the amount of Str you want to be added.


So if the bow is Composite +3... and you only
have a strength of +1, ..... is it a -2 to shoot and
only gives a +1Strength?

Will Bulls Strength help with damage?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kirbdog wrote:

So if the bow is Composite +3... and you only

have a strength of +1, ..... is it a -2 to shoot and
only gives a +1Strength?

Will Bulls Strength help with damage?

Yes and yes.

Composite Longbow wrote:

You need at least two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size. You can use a composite longbow while mounted. All composite bows are made with a particular strength rating (that is, each requires a minimum Strength modifier to use it with proficiency). If your Strength modifier is less than the strength rating of the composite bow, you can’t effectively use it, so you take a –2 penalty on attacks with it. The default composite longbow requires a Strength modifier of +0 or higher to use with proficiency. A composite longbow can be made with a high strength rating to take advantage of an above average Strength score; this feature allows you to add your Strength modifier on damage rolls, up to the maximum bonus indicated for the bow. Each point of Strength bonus granted by the bow adds 100 gp to its cost. If you have a negative modifier due to low Strength, apply it to damage rolls when you use a composite longbow. A composite longbow fires arrows.

For the purposes of Weapon Proficiency and similar feats, a composite longbow is treated as if it were a longbow.

If you had Bull Strength cast on you, your Strength modifier will be the same as the Composite in the example, so you would add +3 to damage (instead of +1) and you would not take the -2 to attack rolls.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Composite Bow question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.