Summoner's Eidolon summoning questions


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

According to the summoner's eidolon text, the summoner requires a ritual of 1 minute to summon the eidolon. I have two questions regarding this.

1. Does the ritual require Verbal and/or Somatic components or not?

2. Does the summon appear next to you or can you summon him at a distance?


Any ideas?


The ritual is not specified. So it's whatever you and your GM say it is, as long as it lasts 1 minute. As for the location, I would say within the 100' maximum strength range it gives under life link. But your GM might say next to you. The Summon Eidolon spell gives Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels). You could also use that for the regular ritual if you wanted.

Liberty's Edge

I have seen nothing about it in the rules. I think the precise nature of the summoning ritual is meant to be unique to each summoner. One might meditate, while another lights a candle and chants. The time, in my opinion, is the important thing.
In my (limited) experience, the summoning is "hand-waved" anyway, along with wizards' studying and clerics' prayers. The exact nature of the ritual is "fluff".

*EDIT 1*
Ninja'd...zut!

*EDIT 2*
The nature of the ritual and the location of the eidolon's appearance are unlikely to matter, except in combat. I would not recommend trying to summon your eidolon during combat.


Normally I would consider it a minor point; however, the thought occurred in my last game, when my summoner cohort was tied up, that depending on how the ritual is required, he could summon the eidolon to help him escape.

There's also a point in the text that says the ritual summons the eidolon to your "side." That begs the question of distance or not.

*edit*
Distance would matter for situations such as stuck in a jail, a sneak attack, or numerous other situations.

*edit2*
In reply to Rocky, I thought about the distance from the spell as well, then it occurred to me that there are things about the spell that are different relative to the normal summoning - retains weakness to certain protection and doesn't stick around. It also requires a silver coin for the spell which is - assumingly - not required for the ritual (maybe?)


Side does not always mean literal side. It could be said someone has fought at your side, and the person wasn't necessarily right there at your side through the fight. That said, I believe it boils down to DM's call. What the ritual entails should be spelled out at character creation, and the DM should decide how far away it can be called to.


I'm sorry for reopening this thread after so much time, but I wish to elaborate a question regarding summoning the eidolon.

The text says that the ritual takes 1 minute. Period. It doens't says that requires a full round action during the minute, nor that you can do other actions while performing the ritual.

What is the consensus regarding this period of time? Can the summoner take other actions?

Thanks.


A full round action is ~6 seconds. A minute action is essentially 10 full round actions.

Most definitely not.


Ximen Bao wrote:

A full round action is ~6 seconds. A minute action is essentially 10 full round actions.

Most definitely not.

I see.

Regarding Full round actions

Spoiler:
Full-Round Actions

A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can't be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.

I'm forced to believe that even if it is a full round action (for 1 minute), the characer is still able to move 5 ft. each round.

Anyone disagrees?


Another intersting questin that will probably come up in my game:

Is Line of sight (through a closed window for example) enough to summon the eidolon to a place or is line of effect needed?

My players will come up on a cave where the back part is collapsed but they can look through tiny spaces in the rubble to the other side. Could the summoner dismiss her eidolon and re-summon it on the other side for scouting purposes?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Scei wrote:


There's also a point in the text that says the ritual summons the eidolon to your "side." That begs the question of distance or not.

To me that seems to be the textbook definition of "adjacent space".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoner's Eidolon summoning questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.