Mounted Combat questions and Cavalier Advice


Advice

Liberty's Edge

Hi all,
I am looking to build a Cavalier which will be making use of mounted combat, but having never done mounted combat before I am unfamiliar with the rules so wanted to get things confirmed if posible.

1) If I charge on my mount for Double/Triple Damage, can my pet also make a charge attack? If he does make an attack I assume I cannot make use of Ride By Attack? If my mount had Spring Attack would he then beable to move again?

2) If I had mounted Skirmish and the mount charged in, would I get to make a full attack and would my first attack count as a charge attack (as my pet was charging)

3) If I were riding a Player as my mount and they had pounce which allows them to move in and full attack, could my action still be a charge as we moved more than 10 feet and technically I was declaring a charge? If so, I assume that if I had Mounted Skirmish, I could not full attack with first attack being a charge as my mount though moved, did not charge

My plan is to go with a Halfling on a Wolf, I am debating whether or not to lose Tactician and go with Gendarme. I know people are big fans of the Tactician but I am not so convinced with it. THough, if I did go with Tactician, my mount benefits from the Feats also? So if I were to get him the actual Feats he and I could benefit from them all the time?

Currently the plan is to go with Order of the Sword for extra Will save and also the bonus to mounted combat.

I don't want to be a one trick pony and intend to have some use without a mount, but if I do not have Teamwork Feats, beyond Power Attack is there anything people would suggest?

Finally, I checked out the Beast Rider Archtype and it appears that if I were HUman I could get a Lion mount at 4 despite not yet being able to ride it...at the same time the Archtype states you cannot have a mount you cannot ride. Is this just a mess up or is there something I am missing that lets a Human ride a Lion at 4.

Thanks for any help.


Yeah the rules for MC are a bit rough but here is my best guess:

1) Yes your pet can attack but if you are using a lance your charge stops 10 ft away from your target as that is

Quote:
the closest space from which you can attack your opponent

, so unless your pet has reach, it wont be able to attack. As for Ride By Attack I dont think it hinders your mounts attacks.

2) Again more issues with the mounted combat rules, Because as i read it the PC never "charges" the mount does. The PC is just along for the ride, you gain the bonuses and penilities for chargeing without performing the chargeing action itself. So by RAW you could.

EDIT I just saw the rule "If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack." So i guess it would depend if mounted skirmisher over rides this.

3) Again when mounted you never declare a charge, your mount does so i think it is the same issue as 2. Also just because your mount has pounce, does not mean it is applied to you.

As for feats, Furious focus gives lets you power attack without penality. Take Spirted Charge for even more godly damage. Also i think there may be some campaign specific feats that you may be able to convince your DM to let you take, Wheeling charge and Mounted Blade (Or something like that I think )

Liberty's Edge

Thanks for the help!
My understanding is that mounted skirmisher allows you to make full attacks despite the pet moving more than 5ft. So for point 2 I believe I would get a full attack round in, however the next question for that is:

a) If I full attack via the Mounted Skirmisher Feat, can the pet continue finishing its movement - making use of the Ride By Attack Feat? I am guessing not but wanted to check.

For point 3 I realise Pounce is part of a Charge so the Charge rules woul apply to my attack.

So, with point 3, If I had mounted Skirmisher and the mount had pounce, it could move in and full attack and so could I - however, with the Lance being a Reach weapon, unless my pet had reach too, only I would get to use the full attack because we stop 10ft away, but with a normal weapon, essentially we could both get full attacks in with my first counting as a charge.

I think that's most things cleared up.
Now I have a new question:

WIth Ride By Attack, I hit the mob 10ft away and can continue moving. So if my charge allows me to continue moving past the mob within 5ft can my pet then get an attack? If so, I assume we stop where he attacks...however, if the pet were to have the Spring Attack Feat chain I assume I could hit on impact, the mount gets its attack after moving a square then it continues its movement?
---------------

As for my char, I will definitely get Spirited Charge, but that Feat chain may be all I go with so that I can get Feats for when I am not mounted. Power Attack is obviously a winner for all situations. I am unsure about Furious Focus as its benefit is only for the first attack which has a high Hit anyway.


Quote:
a) If I full attack via the Mounted Skirmisher Feat, can the pet continue finishing its movement - making use of the Ride By Attack Feat? I am guessing not but wanted to check.

I dont see why not. When the feat says "When you are mounted and use the charge action" but the charge action is never made by the mounted player, so i dont know, Its a very poorly written feat. It wasnt even technically possible, as the mount has to charge straight at the opponent, so it could not "ride by" through the opponents square.

Quote:
WIth Ride By Attack, I hit the mob 10ft away and can continue moving. So if my charge allows me to continue moving past the mob within 5ft can my pet then get an attack? If so, I assume we stop where he attacks

I have allways played it as you move to 10 ft, make a lance attack, move to 5 ft make a pet attack, and then continue on. But that is purely by logical intuition and not supported by RAW.

Quote:
however, if the pet were to have the Spring Attack Feat chain I assume I could hit on impact, the mount gets its attack after moving a square then it continues its movement?

Under spring attack "As a full-round action" and if we continue along with my earlier logic that the mounted pc isnt makeing a charge action, the pet is, and the pc is along for the ride, the pet can not use spring attack, and a charge in the same round as they are both full actions. Also a Ride by attack needs a charge action to be performed, so you couldnt use ride by and spring attack at the same time.

Quote:

As for my char, I will definitely get Spirited Charge, but that Feat chain may be all I go with so that I can get Feats for when I am not mounted. Power Attack is obviously a winner for all situations. I am unsure about Furious Focus as its benefit is only for the first attack which has a high Hit anyway.

In my openion Furious focus is worth it as the penility from your power attack is half your base attack bonus and getting rid of that is pritty awesome. Also ive allways played that you only get one attack on the charge (But now looking at this mounted skirm...). Also remember the free feat at 8th level for being of the order of the sword.

Liberty's Edge

Awesome, thanks again. Also a fair point on the free Feat. Furious will be worth it if GM decides I cannot full atk and Ride By that's for sure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Mounted Combat questions and Cavalier Advice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.