Regeneration: Does the attack have to cause damage?

Rules Questions

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The question is in the title, really. To cause Regeneration to stop functioning, does the attack have to cause any damage to the regenerating creature?

The reason I ask is that I was skimming through Bestiary 3 (as you do), and came across the Thalassic Behemoth, which has Regeneration 20 (fire) and immunity to (you guessed it), fire.

Further, the Regeneration ability is misleading in two more ways:

1) It consistently refers to "attacks" that overcome it, but doesn't mention whether those attacks actually have to hit the target.

2) Regeneration stops functioning "on the round following the attack" - I've always treated this as "until after the creature's next turn", but it could validly be interpreted to mean that if the regenerating creature has its turn after the attack that overcomes its regeneration but in the same round, it still regenerates that round.

Thoughts, please.

Must be a mistake, how come a regenerating creature is immune to the thing that negates its own regeneration? Seems to me like an obvious oversight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Regeneration: Does the attack have to cause damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.