Magic Circle Against Evil Disagreement


Rules Questions


We had a bit of a disagreement at game concerning this spell. I searched the boards but no one has addressed our specific problem. I suspect this is a result of our incredibly literal DM.

I argued that the circle of powdered silver is only necessary when using the binding application of the spell. The DM disagreed as there was no mention of the material component being conditional. His ruling therefore was the circle emanated from the cleric, but if he moved in such a way as to expose the powdered silver enemies could break it and end the spell. This limits the cleric to a 20' radius around the powdered silver.

I don't think that's the intention of the spell and I was hoping someone could some clarification.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

If it was a cleric casting it, there's no powdered silver at all - the material component is replaced with the divine focus component.

Liberty's Edge

It's an emanation from the creature touched (which can, of course, be the caster), not the square the creature was standing in when it was cast. So it moves with the target.


To the OP:

It would seem that you are both incorrect

When a spell has a component that is M/DF, it means that the component is either the material component or the divine focus, not both.

The silver is a required component for the arcane version of the spell. (this makes the divine version superior)

It is,however, a 20' emanation from the creature touched. The circle moves WITH the target.


Ninjariffic wrote:

We had a bit of a disagreement at game concerning this spell. I searched the boards but no one has addressed our specific problem. I suspect this is a result of our incredibly literal DM.

I argued that the circle of powdered silver is only necessary when using the binding application of the spell. The DM disagreed as there was no mention of the material component being conditional. His ruling therefore was the circle emanated from the cleric, but if he moved in such a way as to expose the powdered silver enemies could break it and end the spell. This limits the cleric to a 20' radius around the powdered silver.

I don't think that's the intention of the spell and I was hoping someone could some clarification.

as a cleric you don't have to worry about the silver, but if you needed the powered silver breaking the circle only effects the focused inward version of the spell.

note: the radius is 10'


Wow, ok. I clearly wasn't thinking when it came to divine focus. I completely forgot about that. Shows how often I play a divine character.

Supplementary question: Does that mean that an arcane caster has restricted mobility using this spell? I know the circle moves with the caster, but the silver on the floor wouldn't. The 20' radius was assuming the caster can leave the circle of powdered silver, but must keep the silver within the emanation to protect it. That gives you a mobility range of 20' around the powdered silver.


That silver on the floor is a material component. When a spell is cast, material components are used up. Therefore, the silver is gone from the moment the caster finishes the spell. Then the mage in question can wander around with his 20' radius effect as much as he likes.

Really, you're focusing a tad too intently on that powdered silver, methinks. Go for platinum, the market's more stable ;p


Ahh, but if it were consumed there would be nothing about the circle being disturbed.

MCAE wrote:
If the circle of powdered silver laid down in the process of spellcasting is broken, the effect immediately ends

I'm with all of you, but I don't think you realize how literal my DM is. I'm sure there's already enough here to convince him. He's not unreasonable. That spell is terribly worded, however.

Grand Lodge

Ninjariffic wrote:
Ahh, but if it were consumed there would be nothing about the circle being disturbed.
MCAE wrote:
If the circle of powdered silver laid down in the process of spellcasting is broken, the effect immediately ends
I'm with all of you, but I don't think you realize how literal my DM is. I'm sure there's already enough here to convince him. He's not unreasonable. That spell is terribly worded, however.

Let him know that his over literal reading of rules will allow you to walk around while dead.


The sentence in question is embedded between two lines talking about using the circle as a trap, in the paragraph following the inward circle option.
Context is everything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Circle Against Evil Disagreement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.