Casting and shields


Rules Questions


I play a cleric with a longsword and a light shield.

Given the following, I believe that my cleric can cast spells with a somatic component during his turn in combat:

Quote:
Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield's weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.

And given the following, I believe that my cleric couldn't cast spells with a somatic component during his turn in combat IF he did wear a heavy shield AND IF he didn't use a move action to stow away his heavy shield:

Quote:
Shield, Heavy; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A heavy shield is so heavy that you can't use your shield hand for anything else.

Am I correct in my interpretation of the rules ?

I ask because I often see references on these boards to the "cleric with an heavy shield", and I specifically chose a light shield for my cleric so he could cast spells with a somatic component during his turn in battle - without having to use a move action to put his shield away.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Quickdraw shields are the answer. Quickdraw Sanctified Shield is even better.


You are right by the rules. Cleric with heavy shield is for DMs who handwave number of hands required for casting, witch are the majority.


Agreed, by RAW I believe you are correct. I think most GM's (including me) forget to take that into account.

"Yeah clerics, druids, and oracles are allowed to cast with armor and shields."

So we never even think about it.


A quickdraw shield as far as I've seen can only be light, so it wouldn't change his question at all. Personally I'd assume most clerics using a heavy shield dont also have a weapon drawn during most rounds spent casting, instead they would draw a weapon when needed and then restow it when they need to cast again.

Personally my prefered cleric usually uses a 2 handed weapon and either a buckler or a shield spell. 1 hand is always free when I need to cast a spell because you only need 2 hands on the weapon when swinging it. but I'd say you can cast somantic spells with a light shield straped to your arm as well, maybe just losing the shield bonus because your using the arm for casting instead of blocking.

Asta
PSY


Shields go to the same demi-plane when the cleric is casting that familiars go when the wizard isn't paying attention to them. As soon as the spell is complete the shield returns. While it is gone, it leaves behind a plane of force that acts exactly like a shield of its type.

It's downright magical.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From the PRD:

"Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler."

(Emphasis mine)

You can cast spells with a buckler (but give up the AC bonus). If you could cast spells using any other shield, it would list it in their description.


Good point, Weren Wu Jen.

No I'm not so sure anymore my cleric can use his light shield and cast spells with somatic components °_0 !


Just switch to a buckler! As they both grant a +1 shield bonus, you're just losing the shield bash for the ability to use your off hand to cast spells! :)

In our games, the buckler is the only shield that really gets any use (even fighters might want to drink a potion)!

Cheers!


Yep, even my archer druid uses a buckler.


Yes, I'm considering a buckler.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

We usually go the other direction, large shield or nothing.

Only time I've seen a buckler is a cleric/oracle who is at max carrying weight for low strength or someone using a polearm and spiked gauntlet.


Weren Wu Jen wrote:


You can cast spells with a buckler (but give up the AC bonus). If you could cast spells using any other shield, it would list it in their description.

Ok you can not cast a spell with your shield arm, but: "Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield's weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it."

So, if you are holding a weapon in the other hand, in the round you have to cast a spell you have to swap the weapon between hands (you can not use the weapon with the shield arm, but you can carry a weapon-actually an object-with the shield arm) and cast the spell with your not-shield (and now free) hand. I think that swap a weapon between hands is a free action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting and shields All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.