Summoning into enemy space


Rules Questions


I thought I remembered a rule about summoning creatures that states you can't summon something into an enemy space, but I can't find the rule. If I were to summon stirges (tiny), could they appear in an enemy space and attack, or would they have to appear in an adjacent space, and then move into the target's space to attack? (drawing an attack of opportunity.) Summon Nature's Ally states: "...The summoned ally appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn." Where is the rule that says a creature can not be summoned into an enemy space? Thanks in advance.


Core Rulebook p209 where it talks about conjuration. Many of the overall rules regarding conjuration, polymorph etc. are in the chapter on magic.

- Gauss


I believe the only thing keeping you from summoning something into another creatures area is size. Off the top of my head, following the size rules a creature would have to be two size categories or smaller to share a space. So the stirges would be able to be summoned into the same space of your typical medium sized creature.


Skylancer4, the rules on page 209 state that you must conjure things into an open space. Unfortunately that leaves it somewhat open to interpretation as to what an open space is.

CRB p209 wrote:
A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

- Gauss


Lord Orion wrote:
I thought I remembered a rule about summoning creatures that states you can't summon something into an enemy space, but I can't find the rule. If I were to summon stirges (tiny), could they appear in an enemy space and attack, or would they have to appear in an adjacent space, and then move into the target's space to attack? (drawing an attack of opportunity.) Summon Nature's Ally states: "...The summoned ally appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn." Where is the rule that says a creature can not be summoned into an enemy space? Thanks in advance.

a 5 foot step is still a possibility, so that shouldnt be a problem.


I think the problem the OP is trying to get around is that a tiny or smaller creature will have to provoke an attack of opportunity to move into another creature's space to attack. There was never a ruling on the thread regarding a 5foot step made by a tiny or smaller creature.

- Gauss


Gauss wrote:

I think the problem the OP is trying to get around is that a tiny or smaller creature will have to provoke an attack of opportunity to move into another creature's space to attack. There was never a ruling on the thread regarding a 5foot step made by a tiny or smaller creature.

- Gauss

I didn't realize it was a problem, I play it like a 5 foot step into a square is a possibility, it makes the most sense to me, retreating is however quite easy since the tiny creatures dont get an AoO and reengaging generally will trigger AoO since it moves more than 5 feet.


The wording on it is clear that movement into a square provokes an AOO. This is techinically separate from threatened space which provokes and AOO and the 5foot step which prevents that AOO. Anyhow, that was another thread.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoning into enemy space All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.