Permanency and Dispel Magic


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

The way our group has always played Permanency is that all spells that are made permanent are susceptible to Dispel Magic, whether it is made permanent on yourself, someone else or an object.

However, I saw this at the end of the Permanency spell:

Pathfinder SRD wrote:


Spells cast on other targets are vulnerable to Dispel Magic as normal. The GM may allow other spells to be made permanent.

Does that mean only spells made permanent on other people (than yourself) or objects are susceptible to being dispelled? Or can spells made permanent on yourself (on the caster) be dispelled, as well?


Hobbun wrote:

Does that mean only spells made permanent on other people (than yourself) or objects are susceptible to being dispelled? Or can spells made permanent on yourself (on the caster) be dispelled, as well?

Right after the section of spells that can be made permanent only on oneself:

Quote:
You cannot cast these spells on other creatures. This application of permanency can be dispelled only by a caster of higher level than you were when you cast the spell.

Spells made permanent on oneself are only vulnerable to dispel with CL higher than yours. Spells made permanent on others are vulnerable to all dispels.


Yes all forms of the spell can be dispelled - when casting on self, the spell descriptor says;
"This application of permanency can be dispelled only by a caster of higher level than you were when you cast the spell."


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Ah, I see that now. Wish I would have read closer before posting.

Thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Permanency and Dispel Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.