Mounted: Mount Actions vs. PC actions


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Alright, a bit of a question here:

Give the fact that a mount (presumably) seperate actions than the character riding it. With this in mind, how does a character "charge" while mounted? Does the mount charge? Does this then leave the mounted character free to do a full attack? If they do, will they still get the charge bonuses?

I'm not sure if there are rules on this, but I can't seem to find them. Mounts are an exception to the normal rules.


Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.

If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

However if you just use the mounts movement to get to the bad guy then yes you can make a full attack.
Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.


Alright, that makes sense. If you want the charge bonuses, you take the penalties associated with a charge (that being only a single attack, and the AC penalties), however, if you simply direct your mount to move, you can take a full attack. Makes sense.

Liberty's Edge

FireclawDrake wrote:
Alright, that makes sense. If you want the charge bonuses, you take the penalties associated with a charge (that being only a single attack, and the AC penalties), however, if you simply direct your mount to move, you can take a full attack.

You can only take a full attack from a moving mount if the mount moves via a 5-foot-step or if you are attacking with ranged weapons. I have a link in my profile to the 3.5 Rules of the Games articles on Mounted Combat. They are a good starting point on mounted combat nuances.


Pathfinder isn't 3.5 tho.
When the mount uses it's move action to move, that leaves you with your move action and can therefore still take a full round action


BltzKrg242 wrote:

Pathfinder isn't 3.5 tho.

When the mount uses it's move action to move, that leaves you with your move action and can therefore still take a full round action

However, the rules on mounted combat in the rules section clearly states that if your mount move more then five feet you can only make a single melee attack, so full attacking is out.


To quote the rules for Korpen:

Quote:

Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.

When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

Ranged, however, can full attack while mounted.

Quote:
You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.


Korpen wrote:
BltzKrg242 wrote:

Pathfinder isn't 3.5 tho.

When the mount uses it's move action to move, that leaves you with your move action and can therefore still take a full round action

However, the rules on mounted combat in the rules section clearly states that if your mount move more then five feet you can only make a single melee attack, so full attacking is out.

Absolutely. My Bad. I cut off one paragraph too soon :(


What's really fun is trying to make the mounted combat rules work when you have one PC riding another PC (ex.: Fighter on Druid-back.)


Or even just a PC on a companion which is fully combat capable on their own (such as an eidolon)...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted: Mount Actions vs. PC actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.