Animal Companions and Armor Proficiency


Rules Questions


I used Hero Labs to build a druid with a wolf companion, and according to it, my companion has all armor proficiency feats for free by taking the "Fighting" General Purpose Training Trick.

This seems...off...to me. I couldn't find anywhere else on the SRD or in the CRB that supported this. Can animal companions really get the armor proficiency feats this way (essentially for free), or are they actually supposed to use one (or more) of their feats to do so?


No. they not not get that for free: Errata

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Each must be taken in sequence: Light -> Medium -> heavy. Not for free unless the class specifically states they do, like cavalier mounts with free light armor prof.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal Companions and Armor Proficiency All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.