Stealth and Smoke Pellets, Please help


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Please help settle an arguement, here is the scenerio

Rogue vs Fighter at 60 ft away in completely empty arena in broad daylight

Fighter moves foward 20 and ends

Rogue throws down a smoke pellet and uses stealth, Fighter fails perception roll.

Fighter moves foward another 20 ft.

Smoke pellet disappates as it has been 1 round.

Is the rogue still stealthed even though his cover is gone and he has not found any new cover since the smoke disappaited

I have not found if it says you lose stealth if you lose cover and I have a player arguing to death that because it doesnt say that, the concealment from the smoke pellet stays in effect and the fighter cant see the rogue still

The rogue does not have hide in plain sight fyi


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First of all, it's your player; ergo, it's your call.

Second, this is probably the best you'll get without delving through developer posts and DM_Blake's gigapost on the subject:

Quote:
If people are observing you using any of their senses (but typically sight), you can't use Stealth.

If the rogue has no cover nor concealment, and the fighter has line of sight, and the fighter is not distracted (e.g., via Bluff), the fighter can see the rogue, and Stealth is not possible.

Now tell your player to cut it out with the cheesin'.


I'd say he has it until throw his turn after the smoke runs out. If all he is using it for is to set up his sneak attack next round, just let him. It should be enough to surprise the enemy.


the stealth runs out when the smoke pellet dissipates due to the lack of cover, as blahpers pointed out stealth can't be used if someone is observing you


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I thank everyone for their assistance, this has been quite the issue


blahpers wrote:

First of all, it's your player; ergo, it's your call.

Second, this is probably the best you'll get without delving through developer posts and DM_Blake's gigapost on the subject:

Quote:
If people are observing you using any of their senses (but typically sight), you can't use Stealth.

If the rogue has no cover nor concealment, and the fighter has line of sight, and the fighter is not distracted (e.g., via Bluff), the fighter can see the rogue, and Stealth is not possible.

Now tell your player to cut it out with the cheesin'.

well technically not true, Hellcat stealth from Pathfinder Companion: Cheliax, Empire of Devils allows stealth checks in broad daylight WHILE observed, albeit at a -10


I believe this thread here will settle this argument.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pt9j&page=2?Stealth-Errata#64

This is a thread in which a dev says the intent of stealth and also gives a nice explanation of how it should work in regards to sneak attacks.

In a nutshell, the smoke pellet would give your rogue a chance to make a stealth check. Once he makes his stealth check, he has until the end of the round to make it to more cover, or make a sneak attack. Once he moves out from the smoke, the fighter get 1 opposed perception check. If he fails it, then the rogue maintains his stealth until the end of his current turn unless he finds cover or makes a sneak attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stealth and Smoke Pellets, Please help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.