Criticals and Spirited Charge

Rules Questions

I've been doing a lot of digging around with Cavaliers and I was wondering, what is the interaction with the crit multiplier with the multiplier from Spirited Charge? Is it not a crit multiplier so its a case of 3x damage x3 or does a crit only add another 2x damage in the way Pathfinder deals with crits?

The same as any other time you multiply. The multipliers add.

"When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4. (PFRPG 12)"

Sovereign Court

Just to clarify, a confirmed crit with a lance during a spirited charge would be x3 + x3 = x5?

Are the bonuses from the Cavalier's Challenge added before or after multiplying?

yes x5 and before. This is why a charging cav does so much. Challenge and charge to get at least 3 times level to damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Criticals and Spirited Charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.