Bladebound Magus, adding Agile to the sword?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is there a rules legal way to make the Black Blade the Magus gets an Agile weapon? Or is the character basically leveraging shocking grasp for the extra damage?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
CaspianM wrote:
Is there a rules legal way to make the Black Blade the Magus gets an Agile weapon? Or is the character basically leveraging shocking grasp for the extra damage?

My magus leverages "Fire Snake". or a bunch of other spells. I understand that many aspire to be a one spell pony, but I prefer a bit more variety.

Liberty's Edge

Dervish Dance can be quite useful if your Black Blade is a scimitar.


I'm building an Aldori Swordlord NPC. This is mostly a question of interest. If not it's no biggie.

Though that is a good side question then. What are the other good damage spells other than shocking grasp?


That's actually subject to debate I believe there was a recent thread on it Here. There's also a few other threads as well I believe. They're worth a look.

I'm pretty sure there's no clear answer so my best advice is ask your GM if playing a PC BB-Magus or simply invoke rule 0 if you're the GM.

For PFS I wouldn't know, but I'd wager it's not allowed as per airing on the side of caution.

Still my personal opinion is similar to this post In the same thread.

TL;DR being that yeah, but it counts against it's upgrades down the road meaning you can never use your arcane pool to make your agile black blade Vorpal at level 20 as it would boost it's enchantment total +11 so the effect simply fails to manifest.

I wouldn't be comfortable saying that is in cold hard fact the rules or anything, but simply my own take and personal houseruling on something that's at least a bit unclear.

If you're a sport you might feel inclined to bump the FAQ on the thread I linked.


Waltz wrote:

That's actually subject to debate I believe there was a recent thread on it Here. There's also a few other threads as well I believe. They're worth a look.

I'm pretty sure there's no clear answer so my best advice is ask your GM if playing a PC BB-Magus or simply invoke rule 0 if you're the GM.

For PFS I wouldn't know, but I'd wager it's not allowed as per airing on the side of caution.

Still my personal opinion is similar to this post In the same thread.

TL;DR being that yeah, but it counts against it's upgrades down the road meaning you can never use your arcane pool to make your agile black blade Vorpal at level 20 as it would boost it's enchantment total +11 so the effect simply fails to manifest.

I wouldn't be comfortable saying that is in cold hard fact the rules or anything, but simply my own take and personal houseruling on something that's at least a bit unclear.

If you're a sport you might feel inclined to bump the FAQ on the thread I linked.

Good, I was hoping you would rule that way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bladebound Magus, adding Agile to the sword? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.