Spiritual Weapon and Oracles


Rules Questions


13 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

I'm fairly certain RAW, but wanted to gain consensus.

If an Oracle casts Spiritual Weapon does he/she get to add his/her Charisma bonus to the attack roll? The spell specifically states Wisdom modifier, but it was copypasta from 3.5 and not designed with Cha based divine casters in mind.

I imagine that, Rules As Written, it's definitely still Wisdom, since there's no proviso (as in other spells of this nature) to allow for other key ability modifiers.

However, I'm strongly inclined to allow the Charisma bonus swap since I don't find it the least bit overpowered and see its lack of inclusion as largely an oversight. Hopefully this thread will prompt an errata or FAQ.

What do you think?


I agree. I think it should say "Primary casting stat" as opposed to Wisdom.


Facet of a Shard wrote:
I agree. I think it should say "Primary casting stat" as opposed to Wisdom.

Agreed. That's how we're ruling it in the game I'm in.


I would also agree that Primary Casting stat would be a fair ruling.

Liberty's Edge

Yup. It's only listed as Wis because as of the Corebook nobody using anything else could get it.

RAI it'd clearly be Charisma-based for Oracles.


(Mild Necro, I know. But I was exercising my search-fu before asking the question in a new thread and thought this one would be new enough to just add it to...)
Has anyone seen any sort of dev response to this one?
The closest my searching of the forum could find was a "12 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required." box in the top left of a thread asking this from December 2010 - which doesn't exactly answer the question.

Liberty's Edge

There's no official word. At least, none I'm aware of.


As long as this thread is current, I have a different Spiritual Weapon question. Specifically, how does it interact with metamagic? Does Toppling Spell + Spiritual Weapon possibly trip the target every time it hits? Just once a round? Just on the first hit? Just on the first swing? And does Maximize Spell + Spiritual Weapon create a weapon that always does max damage? Or does Maximize do nothing at all?

The Exchange

this has been brought up on a thread before and i cant find it now but someone posted a jacobs resolution to it so i know it has been answered and just hasnt made it to the errata stage yet.


aaronak wrote:
As long as this thread is current, I have a different Spiritual Weapon question. Specifically, how does it interact with metamagic? Does Toppling Spell + Spiritual Weapon possibly trip the target every time it hits? Just once a round? Just on the first hit? Just on the first swing? And does Maximize Spell + Spiritual Weapon create a weapon that always does max damage? Or does Maximize do nothing at all?

No effect at all, for the same reason that those feats wouldn't work on summon monster I.


Why wouldn't Maximize spell work?


*rereads Spiritual Weapon*

*rereads Maximize Spell*

Huh. Actually, that would work, as it doesn't care whether the spell uses the variable directly son long as the variable is part of the spell.

So, maximized spiritual weapon should roll all 8s on damage. Not bad if you're a paladin with Unsanctioned Knowledge and a metamagic rod.

For that matter, maximized summon monster spells used to summon multiple monsters would summon the maximum number of monsters, but their damage rolls would not be maximized as they aren't part of the spell.

Edit:

*rereads Toppling Spell*

Now I can't see any reason this wouldn't work with spiritual weapon. Niiice.


One warhammer spiritual weapon later... (:<

Glad I could help.

Paizo Employee Official Rules Response

3 people marked this as a favorite.

FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9qlk

(Answered earlier, but in response to a different thread.)

Oracle: Can I use my Charisma modifier for cleric spells and effects that use Wisdom, such as spiritual weapon?

As written, those effects say "Wisdom" (because they were written before the idea of the oracle class as a Charisma-based caster), so an oracle has to use her Wisdom modifier.
However, it is a perfectly reasonable house rule to allow an oracle to use her Charisma modifier (or bonus) for cleric spells that refer to the caster's Wisdom modifier (or bonus).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spiritual Weapon and Oracles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.