Activating domain power


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

What kind of action is it to activate the cleric strength domain power "Might of the Gods"?


Unless otherwise noted, all domain powers require a standard action to activate. Same goes for Oracle revelations.


And any other (Su).


submit2me wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, all domain powers require a standard action to activate. Same goes for Oracle revelations.

Yes, even for abilities like Might of the Gods, which makes the ability terrible, and doesn't seem like the intent. This question is FAQ-worthy, and you should totally houserule it to swift until the designers fix it.


Cheapy wrote:
And any other (Su).

Only (Sp) has casting time of 1 standard action. That is not true for (Su) and (Ex). I also think there is an error in the core rulebook stating that using all domains powers is a standard action. Take for example Acid Resistance or Leadership. I think almost all the (Sp) power domains are standard actions (as reported in all the descriptions, apart from few exceptions), but (Ex) and (Su) domain powers are free or swift actions


Combat, Standard Actions,Supernatural Abilities (Su) wrote:
Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

If the (Su) needs to be activated, it's a standard action unless specified otherwise.

If it doesn't need to be activated, then it's always up.


The general rule is that unless it says otherwise somewhere, it's a standard action.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The PRD states the following about using special abilities:

The PRD wrote:

Use Special Ability

Using a special ability is usually a standard action, but whether it is a standard action, a full-round action, or not an action at all is defined by the ability.

So, look to the specific ability description. It should say, or at least be obvious, from the description.


Cheapy wrote:
Combat, Standard Actions,Supernatural Abilities (Su) wrote:
Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

If the (Su) needs to be activated, it's a standard action unless specified otherwise.

If it doesn't need to be activated, then it's always up.

I did't find this sentence in the Core Rulebook, where is reported?


Combat section of the book, in the Actions in Combat subsection, in Standard Actions sub-subsection, right above the Move actions sub-subsection.

Page 186 or thereabouts in the 5th printing PDF.


Cheapy wrote:

Combat section of the book, in the Actions in Combat subsection, in Standard Actions sub-subsection, right above the Move actions sub-subsection.

Page 186 or thereabouts in the 5th printing PDF.

Thanks, I was confused because it was not reported in Magic Chaprter (page 221) and in the appendix (page 554) (the only two paragraphs indexed in the index for the supernatural key)


Yea, the rules for supernatural abilities are in...3 or 4 places. Same with Spell-like abilities. It's annoying!


Of course, in the specific case of cleric domains, the rule is also printed under the "Domains" entry of the class write-up:

PRD wrote:

Domains: A cleric's deity influences her alignment, what magic she can perform, her values, and how others see her. A cleric chooses two domains from among those belonging to her deity. A cleric can select an alignment domain (Chaos, Evil, Good, or Law) only if her alignment matches that domain. If a cleric is not devoted to a particular deity, she still selects two domains to represent her spiritual inclinations and abilities (subject to GM approval). The restriction on alignment domains still applies.

Each domain grants a number of domain powers, dependent upon the level of the cleric, as well as a number of bonus spells. A cleric gains one domain spell slot for each level of cleric spell she can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a cleric can prepare one of the spells from her two domains in that slot. If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot. Domain spells cannot be used to cast spells spontaneously.

In addition, a cleric gains the listed powers from both of her domains, if she is of a high enough level. Unless otherwise noted, using a domain power is a standard action. Cleric domains are listed at the end of this class entry.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Activating domain power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.