Prestige class enhancing caster level, official answer sought

Rules Questions

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

There is some inconsistency in the descriptions of a number of prestige classes. Not all prestige classes that grant an increased level to a spellcasting class have text granting the same benefits of increased spells per day, spells known (if a spontaneous caster), and effective caster level.

Of particular concern to me is the wording for the Divine Scion class which states:

Inner Sea Magic wrote:

Spells: When a divine scion gains a level, she gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in a divine spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however, gain any other benefits a character of that class would have gained. This essentially means that she adds the level of divine scion to the level of whatever other divine spellcasting class she has.

If the character had more than one divine spellcasting class before she became a divine scion, she must choose which class she adds each divine scion level to for the purposes of determining spells per day.

Notice there is no mention of increased effective caster level or spells known for spontaneous casters. So as written if I were to have 5 cleric levels, then take 3 levels in this prestige class the character would have an effective caster level of 5, not 8.

Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook FAQ wrote:

Prestige Classes and Spellcasters: Does a wizard (or other character that uses a spellbook), receive bonus spells to add to his spellbook when he gains a level in a prestige class that grants an increase to spellcasting?

No. The increase to his spellcasting level does not grant any other benefits, except for spells per day, spells known (for spontaneous casters), and an increase to his overall caster level. He must spend time and gold to add new spells to his spellbook.

—Jason Bulmahn, 11/24/10

Can this be clarified to indicate whether the Divine Scion or possibly all PrCs with "+1 level of existing arcane/divine spellcasting class" are supposed to grant all 3 benefits?

For reference:
The wording is similar to the Divine Scion for the Diabolist, Cyphermage, and Harrower PrCs.

Some PrCs leave out the bit about gaining spells known but do grant an increased effective caster level, such as Genie Binder, Balanced Scale of Abadar, Spherewalker, and Crusader.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prestige class enhancing caster level, official answer sought All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions