domain touch ability one round effect


Rules Questions


I don't understand the timing rules on this.

Example:
Touch of Law (Sp): You can touch a willing creature as a standard action, infusing it with the power of divine order and allowing it to treat all attack rolls, skill checks, ability checks, and saving throws for 1 round as if the natural d20 roll resulted in an 11. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Is it until...
1. The 'end of their next round'
2. The 'end of your next round'
3. One round taken whenever they want (i.e. they can 'hold' it)


Until your initiative on the following round, that is, one round from when you touch them.


It ends just before you act on your next round. This means that you would not be able to benefit from it yourself on attack rolls (except an aoo before your next turn), or skill checks (except those done as an immediate action in response to an action by someone else, such as a spellcraft to identify a spell cast by an enemy caster.) Probably best used on allies, or on yourself if you expect to be forced to make a saving throw.


As they say, it ends before your next turn starts, thus it is written.

The Combat Round: "Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on."

If that's no good for you, Theo Stern came up with an excellent house rule: Let the cleric use the ability on herself as a swift action, but still a standard for others. This mirrors Lay on Hands and lets the 1st-level cleric touches be a little bit more useful.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / domain touch ability one round effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions