Ultimate combat Blistering Invective with Versatile Spels (percussion

Rules Questions

Here we are again, checking if by the book, this is a legal use of the spell.

Blistering Invective

School evocation [fire, language-dependant]; Level alchemist 2, bard 2, inquisitor 2

Components V, S

Casting Time 1 standard action

Range personal

Area 30-ft. radius

Duration instantaneous

Saving Throw Reflex partial, see text; Spell Resistance special, see below

You unleash an insulting tirade so vicious and spiteful that enemies who hear it are physically scorched by your fury. When you cast this spell, make an Intimidate check to demoralize each enemy within 30 feet of you. Enemies that are demoralized this way take 1d10 points of fire damage and must succeed at a Reflex save or catch fire. Spell resistance can negate the fire damage caused by this spell, but does not protect the creature from the demoralizing effect.

So my questions are :

1. Since he has Versatile Performance :Percussion (Handle Animal, Intimidate), can he use that to make his intimidate check (he has charisma 16(+3), a mw instrument(+2), 6(+6) ranks in perform (+3 class skill) = a bonus of 14 Vs DC 10+enemy hd+wis modifier? (incredibly easy if you ask me)

2. The dc to catch fire, is it a fix dc or the dc related to spell level + charisma modifier ?

3. Since this is language dependant, Can we assume it affects only those who speak the language in which he makes the invective ?

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

1. Yes, he can use versatile performance to sub his Performance skill modifier in for his Intimidate modifier. However, since he's actually making an Intimidate check (not Performing), I don't think he would receive the bonus from his masterwork instrument.

2. The DC to catch fire is the spell's DC (so 15, in this case. 10 + spell level 2 + Charisma 3)

3. That is correct.

Thanks for the aswer. In fact, mw bonus from the instrument doesn't apply because of the way Versatile Spell is described. It says SKILL bonus only, not misc bonus. But it appears you are right, and I came to the same conclusion too.

Benchak the Nightstalker wrote:

2. The DC to catch fire is the spell's DC (so 15, in this case. 10 + spell level 2 + Charisma 3)

What about on subsequent rounds when they get another save? Is it still the spell DC or does it default over to environmental rules (which would be 15)?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ultimate combat Blistering Invective with Versatile Spels (percussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.