Chakrams and heavy armor


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I am attempting to make a dual wielding catfolk chakram master. I am finding the whole heavy armor thing to be my major obstacle for what I am aiming. Does anyone know of any good work arounds? Is there any real reason I couldn't just wear gauntlets(even though they are listed as weapons, and not armor in the core rules)?


Well, I'm not sure the damage is just to your hands. Still a silly weapon restriction.

It's like making a guy that isn't proficient with nunchaku make a DC 15 save to avoid ending up on YouTube.


Your best bet ask your GM most will accomodate you on this though some might be sticklers for the rules.

Warning the following is only the GM known as Talonhawke's personal opinion

I would allow it on even some higher cost gloves personally but i go more for rule of cool over some rules. YMMV

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:
Your best bet ask your GM most will accomodate you on this though some might be sticklers for the rules.

Mine seems to be being a bit of a stickler, That's why I was kinda hoping for an OFFICIAL ruling. Thanks everyone for your input.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Gauntlets in the weapon section and the gauntlets provided with heavier armor is the same thing. The exact same thing.


Also you could look into finding some way to get enough DR to not take any damage if you fail your reflex.

Or mithril heavy armor but thats the best i can think of.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I feel your bain Nobnarb. I hate when you have stickler GMs that go heavily by the book and ignore things that don't make sense. Be careful though that your GM doesn't also think the Chakram won't hurt someone in heavy armor.

But - Lets Utterly break the reality of your DMs game.

You could wear mithral full plate.. Since MFP counts as medium armor.. Whoops, you take damage form chakarum.

Or you can spend most of your time running around in an armor kilt, which is light armor. you carry an armored coat with you, that you don as a move action. BOOM! putting on a your jacket with your dress you no longer take damage from chakrum! For more ridiculousness.. spend a move action putting on the coat, attack. Then Next turn attack, and remove the coat.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ask him what about heavy armor allows you to avoid this damage. Then tell him there is no dead condition.


No mithril full plate actually is still heavy armor its just light enough that it acts as medium. You still need Hvy prof to use it without penalty.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Gauntlets don't work with chakrams, and you can't die. That's what you get with overtly literal RAW. Just saying.


Just to ask does this character have any relation to a recently released video game?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:
No mithril full plate actually is still heavy armor its just light enough that it acts as medium. You still need Hvy prof to use it without penalty.

Armor Prof has nothing to do with armor type other than what not to wear. The Charakum says you don't make the check with Heavy Armor, regardless if you are prof with it or not.

Mithril full plate acts like medium armor, therefor it acts like medium armor, not heavy armor which is what the Charakum is looking for. For some magical strange reason, Mithril full plate ends up losing its ability to protect you simply because what it acts like changes.

This is the same reason wearing an armor kilt with an armor coat, suddenly puts you into heavy armor, thus stopping the effects of the Chakarum even though your hands are totally exposed.


Mithral is a very rare silvery, glistening metal that is lighter than steel but just as hard.

When worked like steel, it becomes a wonderful material from which to create armor, and is occasionally used for other items as well. Most mithral armors are one category lighter than normal for purposes of movement and other limitations.

This wouldn't be a limitation so for this case its still heavy armor.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I see.. but It does depend on the DM I guess.

However, Armor coat and Kilt still stands if I'm not mistaken.


It would most definatly.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ask him if you can use Piecemeal Armor.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Ask him if you can use Piecemeal Armor.

That's actually where I went first. But, since even just the arm armor reduces my movement to 20 (For some reason) they said I might as well just go with the full armor. This whole thing is getting rather frustrating.

Talonhawke wrote:
Just to ask does this character have any relation to a recently released video game?

No. What recent game has a catfolk chakram master Dex-Based fighter?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ask him why heavy armor prevents this damage. Go from there.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Pretty much got it ruled as Okay due to "I just don't give a F*** anymore" Interesting having your bipolar 20 year old nephew as your GM.


Kingdoms of Amular has Dual Chakrams as a really awesome fighting style is what came to mind.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:
Kingdoms of Amular has Dual Chakrams as a really awesome fighting style is what came to mind.

Oh, I was unaware of that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Chakrams and heavy armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.