Tattooed Sorcerer and their familiar


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Hi all,

I'm a little confused about the Tattooed Sorcerer's familiar and hoping you could clarify.

The Tattooed familiar functions as both a familiar and an arcane bonded item. Does this mean when the familiar is active, effectively no longer "held" by the sorcerer, the sorcerer takes a penalty to cast spells because it's arcane bond is temporarily broken?

Sovereign Court

Actually it's not an arcane bonded item at all.

Inner Sea Magic wrote:

Familiar Tattoo (Su): A tattooed sorcerer gains a

familiar as an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to her
sorcerer level. Her sorcerer levels stack with any wizard
or witch levels she possesses when determining the
powers of her familiar—this ability does not allow her to
have both a familiar and a bonded item.

Note the section that I've bolded.

So if we go look at the wizard arcane bond class feature:

PRD wrote:
Arcane Bond (Ex or Sp): At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object.

The tattooed sorcerer the choice or item or familiar made for him, he gets the familiar.

None of the rules for arcane bonded items apply to a tattooed sorcerer, only the rules for a familiar.


What if I take a level of Tattooed Sorcerer and a level of Wizard?

Can I get both the Familiar and the Bonded Item?

Or do I have to 'continue' with a familiar?

Explanation:

I'm playing a Tattooed Sorcerer (Wildblooded Sage), and want to make a blaster out of him.

Limited selection of spells makes it hard to cast different types of elemental spells.
So I intend to put a level into Wizard Evocation (Admixture) specialist.


Although it may be 3.5-style talking through me, if I recall correctly, you can only gain one, either a familiar or a bonded item. Once you have one, you don't switch at will, though perhaps a GM will allow you. I'll later.

EDIT:

d20PFSRD wrote:
Arcane Bond (Su): At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level. Your sorcerer levels stack with any wizard levels you possess when determining the powers of your familiar or bonded object. Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known (unlike a wizard’s bonded item, which allows him to cast any one spell in his spellbook). This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.

This and the wording of the above indicates that you can only have one.

It seems to indicate that you can gain only one ever, regardless of class.

That's probably how I'd rule it.


Thanks for the effort Tacticslion. :-)


Heh, you're welcome.

Also, "I'll later." is (probably obviously) supposed to be "I'll look for it later." Guh. Bad spelling/grammar/posting is bad!

Also, if you talk to your GM, they might allow you to retrain the familiar thing. I probably would. Also, turning a familiar into a tattoo isn't much different than turning an item into a tattoo. While it would grant a noticeable benefit to no longer have to worry about holding an item, I'd allow an item to become a tattoo instead (or even be a tattoo, for that matter). I'd probably make it cost money, though, unlike normal items (I'd have to think about it for a while), but after the initial payment I wouldn't make it cost more.

After thinking about it (though probably not nearly enough), I'd probably price it at the (seemingly steep) 500g. This is the same price as a Necromantic Focus, and I'd say the power level roughly aligns. I might well be over-pricing it, though, and could reasonably see it argued to 250g, or even 75g. I'm just not certain, at present.

For that price, you gain all the benefits of a bonded item but never need worry about it being sundered or stolen. I'd generally rule you need to display it or touch it in some way while casting (so putting it in your armpit, while possible, might make casting more difficult, or at least silly-looking).

Anyway, none of that's RAW, that's just me yammering, as is my wont.

Good gaming!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tattooed Sorcerer and their familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions