Can Alchemist's bombs crit?


Rules Questions


It says under the bombs that "this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit..." but what bonus damage? Is this just a copy paste error from sneak attack? The bombs aren't bonus damage...

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

bombs deals 1D6 (which can crit)
at higher level, you gain +1D6, those are a bonus damage, not multiplied on crit...


Yes it can crit only the first dice+any static bonuses are multiplied not the extra dice.

So at third level with a 16int you would have 2d6+3 if you crit its (1d6+3)x2+1d6


Wow...
Kinda sucks, but thanks.


Also note that the splash damage is also not increases only the direct hit.


The whole sentence explains the details.

On a direct hit, an alchemist's bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist's Intelligence modifier. The damage of an alchemist's bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike).


Talonhawke wrote:
Also note that the splash damage is also not increases only the direct hit.

The splash damage does go up. Just not very fast or very much.

Splash damage from an alchemist bomb is always equal to the bomb's minimum damage (so if the bomb would deal 2d6+4 points of fire damage on a direct hit, its splash damage would be 6 points of fire damage).


i meant on a crit.


The confusion I had was the choice of words.
Bonus being the main culprit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Alchemist's bombs crit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.