Plant Growth - Spell Question


Rules Questions


Okay form folks!

Simple enough question for you all.

Does the 'Enrichment' effect of Plant Growth stack with itself with multiple castings?

My group has recently taken a desert keep for ourself- and the druid of the group wants to turn the area around the keep into an oasis of sorts, and would like to know.if multiple castings of Plant Growth would help.


Bump?


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

As an instantaneous spell, you could cast it multiple times, but I don't see the point. Cast it on an open plain of grass and suddenly everyone's speed drops to 5 feet. Cast it again and...everyone's speed is still 5 feet.

If you are hoping to increase the save DC of other spells using this one, I don't think that works. I think you would only serve to increase the duration of the DC bonus.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I think this is the effect in question...

Enrichment: This effect targets plants within a range of a halfmile,
raising their potential productivity over the course of the next
year to one-third above normal.

And the "stack with itself from this effect should be clear. And would go a long way towards explaining why even mid level druids have groves full of appropriately ancient trees...

Also why can farmers in this setting can support such large, late medieval urban populations with early medieval agriculture and transportation.


It doesn't change the surrounding environment until the GM says so, so repeated castings would be REQUIRED to simply maintain the existing plants.


Plant growth does not say anything about growing new plants. So if you dont't have an oasis with edible plants in there already, Plant Growth would not create you one. The druid could keep casting (multiple) Grove of Respite spells to keep everyone fed and watered, though.

Quote:
Enrichment: This effect targets plants within a range of a half-mile, raising their potential productivity over the course of the next year to one-third above normal.

Should that be interpreted as 33% increase? Or that the original is 2/3 of the new productivity, and so a 50% increase? I'll assume the former.

First casting changes the productivity from "normal" to one third above normal. Next castings would do exactly the same thing, the previous casting would not change what is the "normal" yield, so the subsequent castings would all set the productivity to the same value, 133% percent of normal.
Lets say your plants produce 100 units normally. After Plant Growth they would be producing 133 units. 100 units would still be the "normal" yield, so subsequent castings would all set the productivity to 133 units.


Does a spell stack with itself on multiple casting. = No

Would you be able to effect different area with each casting = Yes

25 druid casting the same exact spell in the same exact area will have no effect, other than overwriting the preserve druid casting.

(damage and healing spell, are the normal exception to this logic ).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Plant Growth - Spell Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.