Lunge - not really getting it


Rules Questions


as described in Pathfinder OGC

"Lunge (Combat)

You can strike foes that would normally be out of reach.

Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: You can increase the reach of your melee attacks by 5 feet until the end of your turn by taking a –2 penalty to your AC until your next turn. You must decide to use this ability before any attacks are made."

now my question is: do you have to decide before YOU make any attack, or are we talking about other people/foes?

my guess is that it's the former, but I'm not sure.

thanks for your input,
Andreas


GRU wrote:

as described in Pathfinder OGC

"Lunge (Combat)

You can strike foes that would normally be out of reach.

Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: You can increase the reach of your melee attacks by 5 feet until the end of your turn by taking a –2 penalty to your AC until your next turn. You must decide to use this ability before any attacks are made."

now my question is: do you have to decide before YOU make any attack, or are we talking about other people/foes?

my guess is that it's the former, but I'm not sure.

thanks for your input,
Andreas

You decide at the beginning of your turn, and it lasts only for your turn, i.e. no AoO or such against someone else with your extended reach.


Thanks, Sangalor


OK, I am new to this and I have a question. Til the end of your turn, does that mean that if you go on init 12, declare a lunge attack against opponent 1 who is 10 ft away, you are at -2 for the rest of the round back to the top and until init order 12 to remove the -2 penalty. Now in the above situation, you lunged at opponent 1 (10 ft away), opponent 2 (on init 10, before your turn ends)comes from 20 ft away in your direction to melee attack you. When they enter the 10 range from you, no problem, but once they entered your second threaten area (at 5ft) can you take an AoO since you are still in the lunge attack til the end of your turn (init 12 of the new round) ??
Or does the term "end of your turn" mean immediately after your attack (init 12) your turn is resolved, and if so does that mean you no longer have the -2?


Quote:
Til the end of your turn, does that mean that if you go on init 12, declare a lunge attack against opponent 1 who is 10 ft away, you are at -2 for the rest of the round back to the top and until init order 12 to remove the -2 penalty.

Yes!

Quote:

Now in the above situation, you lunged at opponent 1 (10 ft away), opponent 2 (on init 10, before your turn ends)comes from 20 ft away in your direction to melee attack you. When they enter the 10 range from you, no problem, but once they entered your second threaten area (at 5ft) can you take an AoO since you are still in the lunge attack til the end of your turn (init 12 of the new round) ??

Or does the term "end of your turn" mean immediately after your attack (init 12) your turn is resolved, and if so does that mean you no longer have the -2?

You retain the -2 to AC for the rest of the turn until your initiative comes up again (like charging, for example), but no longer have extended reach after your turn ends.


You only keep the extra reach on your own turn, but keep the AC penalty until the end of your next turn. You don't have to decide at the beginning of your turn, just before you attack. Thus, you could move (provoking an AoO for example) then Lunge+Attack, getting the added reach for that attack, and only then taking the -2AC until the end of your next turn.


OK, guess it make sense :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Lunge - not really getting it All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.