First I'll apologize if this has been addressed in another thread, I hadn't seen it yet, but I figured I ought to get a clarification before I try this combo for Jade Regent.
The set up is this 3 monk/ 10 Ninja w/ Monastic legacy and the Advanced Ninja trick that allows you to count yourself as a monk 4 levels lower for unarmed damage.
Equation 3 Monk + 6(10 Ninja - 4(this is the Ninja Trick))+ 5( 10 Ninja /2(Monastic Legacy Feat))= 13th level character with 14th monk unarmed strike. This in and of itself isn't so over powering, except that by design the character will eventually have 3 Monk and 14 Ninja by the end of the ap.
Should look something like this:3 Monk + 10(14 Ninja - 4(this is the Ninja Trick))+ 7( 14 Ninja /2(Monastic Legacy Feat))= 17th level character with 20th level monk unarmed strike. Truthfully everthing would still work as long as we never reach 18th level. At that point he'd have Epic level monk damage and no rules for epic level monks.
Am I misinterpreting the rules here?
Both are untyped bonuses and neither limits your effective monk level to your character level, so it looks like it stacks.
Also, be aware that the rules don't "break" if you are dealing damage as a monk of higher than 20th level. Your damage will cap at 2d10, just like a pure Monk 20 with a monk's belt won't do higher damage either.
EDIT: For more fun, try a monk's belt!
EDIT 2: Monk's robe... not belt.
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
About the ninja/monk... how do the ki pools work together? Is it one pool? Or should you keep them seperate?
Could a monk 4/ninja 2 use all his ki points for vanishing tricks?
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool, but only one ability score modifier is added to the total. The choice of which score to use is made when the second class ability is gained, and once made, the choice is set. The ninja can now use ki points from this pool to power the abilities of every class she possesses that grants a ki pool.
So a ninja 2/monk 4 would have 1 ki pool which he would draw on for both classes' abilities. Its size would be determined as though he were a monk 6 OR ninja 6, his choice.
I agree with Stratagemini. You would only gain 2 lvls of effective unarmed damage from the 4 levels of ninja that aren't counting as monk for purposes of unarmed strike. The ninja trick already makes the levels count as monk. Keep in mind a monks robe would push you another 5 though.
So at 17th level you said you would be Monk 3 and Ninja 14. You would get 3 from Monk, 10 from Ninja, 2 from Monastic Legacy and 5 from Monks Robe. Effectively lvl 20 Monk for unarmed strike.
I personally do also think the monk dice continue to scale into epic, but there is nothing official on this in Pathfinder.