Pillar of life - casting into a 5-foot square...


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

I was wondering if it's possible to target a 5-foot square that has someone in it say.. (A vampire). Is that perfectly legal and would the vampire immediately take damage from it? Pillar of life does not provide a save nor does it allow spell resistance according to what I've read.

Can someone confirm this?

Dark Archive

For the info:

Quote:

Pillar of Life

School conjuration (healing) [light]; Level cleric 5

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S, DF

Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)

Effect 5-ft.-square pillar of positive energy, 20 ft. high

Duration 1 round/level

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

You conjure a pillar of positive energy in a single 5-foot square within range that radiates light as if it were a sunrod. Living creatures adjacent to the pillar can spend a standard action to touch the pillar and heal 2d8 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +20). Creatures can move into the square containing the pillar, but if an undead creature moves into the pillar it takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 10d6). Undead creatures vulnerable to bright light take 1d8 points if damage per caster level (maximum 10d8). A creature cannot benefit or suffer more than once from a single casting of this spell.

Dark Archive

From what I read, that is RAW legal.

I, personally, might be temped to allow a saving throw to allow one to dive out of the way, but per RAW, that vampire is going to eat some damage until it can move.


Happler wrote:

From what I read, that is RAW legal.

I, personally, might be temped to allow a saving throw to allow one to dive out of the way, but per RAW, that vampire is going to eat some damage until it can move.

by actual RAW, they would only take damage when moving into it(no effect on them from casting it in their space). and wouldn't take any more damage, even if they move out and move back in, "a creature cannot benefit or suffer more than once from a single casting of this spell."


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So it takes damage initially and then at the end of it's turn?

(that would allow it's full round of actions before having to take the damage again).

I like this, hello Mr Tanglefoot Bags....


lastblacknight wrote:

So it takes damage initially and then at the end of it's turn?

(that would allow it's full round of actions before having to take the damage again).

I like this, hello Mr Tanglefoot Bags....

No

Just takes damage once if at all, no matter how many times it enters leaves or touches the pillar.

Lantern Lodge

skrahen wrote:
Happler wrote:

From what I read, that is RAW legal.

I, personally, might be temped to allow a saving throw to allow one to dive out of the way, but per RAW, that vampire is going to eat some damage until it can move.

by actual RAW, they would only take damage when moving into it(no effect on them from casting it in their space). and wouldn't take any more damage, even if they move out and move back in, "a creature cannot benefit or suffer more than once from a single casting of this spell."

actually it says.. "Creatures can move into the square containing the pillar, but if an undead creature moves into the pillar it takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 10d6)."

It sounds to me like creatures could move into the square.. meaning that the pillar isn't solid. the rest of the statement shows what happens if an undead walks into the pillar but it never says that the undead must walk into it in order to take damage.

I'm hoping for something official from one of the authors here. I'm in the carrion crown campaign and I hope to have an official answer soon because at this point, I am mostly going to argue that my reading of this spell is accurate. The GM may shoot me down but I will probably still make the argument.

Thanks.. this is a very good discussion.


Were I the DM I would allow it, but would allow a reflex save to get out of the way (half damage). Rule of Cool applies, and i would reward a player for coming up with an inventive use of a spell.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
skrahen wrote:
lastblacknight wrote:

So it takes damage initially and then at the end of it's turn?

(that would allow it's full round of actions before having to take the damage again).

I like this, hello Mr Tanglefoot Bags....

No

Just takes damage once if at all, no matter how many times it enters leaves or touches the pillar.

5th Level spell with round duration?

I would consider a reflex save if cast directly on it, perhaps...

But if the Vampire moved intentionally into the effect then no save allowed...

Sounds like a great "we need to retreat spell"... if fighting in confined areas.


I was also wondering about this. Any official verdict that I haven't found yet?

Seems broken to have no save, no SR at that level of damage.

Also seems dickish to say he "didn't move into it" when the text seems ambiguous… though less broken. I should house rule this, one way or the other before it comes up (I'm expecting probably next session).

However, coordinated with a Bull Rushing ally, seems like a great tactic.


The spell is what it is. What's the question for this exactly? You can cast it ON a square with an undead vulnerable to it, but they won't take damage unless they leave and move back into the square. It clearly says move into. If the party members FORCE that undead to move into that square it's their choice. It's a stationary 5 foot square pillar of positive and/or divine energy. If the undead is foolish enough to position himself so near to it or to not try and move away from it, it's their fault.

Pro: No saving throw

Con: Can't cast it on a square with an undead already on it to deal damage.

Looking at the dimensions of the spell, it looks like it's a spell made to be a barrier for a door or something anyways, not a weird version of searing light.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pillar of life - casting into a 5-foot square... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.