Readied action to step away from a charge


Rules Questions

201 to 219 of 219 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I noticed that the OP didn't have any FAQ flags, so I made a new thread to collect FAQ clicks (since, 200 posts later, we're still debating). I summarized the issues there, but PLEASE KEEP THE DISCUSSION TO THIS THREAD.

Now head on over and get to clicking!

The Exchange

sorry Jiggy - I'm new here and have no idea what you mean by FAQ clicks.

Kind of sorry to have started this now. I do hate to be called a Rules lawyer (or munchkin, or other things ... well the general tone was very confrontational - with people taking it like I was directly attacking their playing style). I was just trying to see if this tactic would work for my unarmed Bard (well, she does carry whips, but these are "tools of her trade". Yes, profession Courtesan). In the examples above replace the IK with a 'Ho and you get my picture. My character is trying to disarm Conan (Improved Disarm) while he is trying to Bit... ah, Lady.

"ARRRGH! Just stand still long enough for me to split you woman!"
"Now, Huney, you just need to calm down and we can discuss pay for services again!"

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

nosig wrote:
sorry Jiggy - I'm new here and have no idea what you mean by FAQ clicks.

At the top of every post, there's a short list of links - Flag, FAQ, Favorite, etc. This is also where "Edit" and "Delete" appear if it's a recent post of your own.

Clicking the "FAQ" link alerts the Paizo staff that there's an issue worth looking into - for instance, back in July I started a thread about scroll failure that collected about 20 FAQ clicks and eventually resulted in a new FAQ a couple of days ago that included adding a line to the rules.

So basically, this is the best way to get clarifications from Paizo. Head over to the post I linked, and click "FAQ" at the top-right.

The Exchange

did so, thanks Jiggy. This is why I come here, to learn things new.


A. Kobold readies an attack when attacked
B. Gronk moves adjacent and readies an attack on kobold moving.
A. If kobold moves, gronk gets to attack, so kobold stays put and readies an attack when attacked.
B. Gronk takes the full attack action, and starts to attack. Kobald attacks and steps away.
B. Gronk takes a 5 ft step (as allowed in a full attack action, and then creams the kobold on his iterative, Or with TWF.

Ok, so barbarians need to be 6th level before they can kill a kobold.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

BigNorseWolf wrote:

A. Kobold readies an attack when attacked

B. Gronk moves adjacent and readies an attack on kobold moving.
A. If kobold moves, gronk gets to attack, so kobold stays put and readies an attack when attacked.
B. Gronk takes the full attack action, and starts to attack. Kobald attacks and steps away.
B. Gronk takes a 5 ft step (as allowed in a full attack action, and then creams the kobold on his iterative, Or with TWF.

Ok, so barbarians need to be 6th level before they can kill a kobold.

Did you FAQ the other thread yet? :D


Quote:

Well, except I still disagree with you, BNW, with the charge scenario, but only because that's one action (not two) with specific rules about when it's illegal or not, and the readied person can ready for the latter part of that singular action, interrupting it.

BTW, The lancer can just wheel around next round and smite. Easy to imagine six seconds used on first charge.

Return of the immortal kobold

Dervish is charging down a kobold on his horse. Dervish is of course, wielding a scimitar.

The Kobold Holds an action to attack the horse and 5 foot step away from dervish in response to being attacked.

Dervish charges, the kobold stabs the horse, and 5 foot steps away, ruining Dervish's action.

Dervish is now stuck in the same predicament as the barbarian. The charger can't wheel around at the kobold.

_______

Even more silliness.

This would be easier with pictures, but imagine a chess board

Dervish is at A8. The Kobold is at A1. The kobold holds an action until dervish hits A6 and will move 30 feet to his right to G1.

As you're reading the charge rules, dervish's charge is now illegal. He did not advance directly towards the kobold when he went from A7 to A6. Dervish's turn is over and he sits there sputtering.

Quote:
And because there are so many real world/fantasy fiction examples that support the doability.

I'm not saying its not doable I'm saying that this is the wrong mechanism for it. What you're proposing is dangerous and risky, it shouldn't be 100% automatic. "I want to hit things without them ever getting a chance to hit me" is NOT something the game is supposed to model.

I think the problem here is that people don't describe the enemies MISSES, even if it describes their hits. Logolas or Gimly diving under the horse and hitting them as they go by is already modeled by peoples ability to miss attacks and then get nailed with the attack of opportunity.

Shadow Lodge

I see two equally valid resolutions:

A) Split the charge action into two actions, with the move qualifying the attack. The opponent's readied action can foil the attack action in response to the attack (ready fires before the attack, after the move), but would NOT foil it in response to the move (charger selects legal path instead, per the rules.) Actions are modified.

B) Keep the charge action (and other elements of the turn) whole and forbid this use of ready. As in, the charge happens, result determined, and then the ready happens (step, set lance, etc). You're still hit by the charge, but you wind up 5-feet away. Actions happen, results are modified.

The former takes the components and executes them in sequence. The latter depicts the actions happening at the same time, which makes more sense with things like counterspell and interrupting attacks.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

mcbobbo wrote:

I see two equally valid resolutions:

A) Split the charge action into two actions, with the move qualifying the attack. The opponent's readied action can foil the attack action in response to the attack (ready fires before the attack, after the move), but would NOT foil it in response to the move (charger selects legal path instead, per the rules.) Actions are modified.

B) Keep the charge action (and other elements of the turn) whole and forbid this use of ready. As in, the charge happens, result determined, and then the ready happens (step, set lance, etc). You're still hit by the charge, but you wind up 5-feet away. Actions happen, results are modified.

The former takes the components and executes them in sequence. The latter depicts the actions happening at the same time, which makes more sense with things like counterspell and interrupting attacks.

Go click the FAQ button on the other thread I made. And maybe give it a bump while you're there.

Dark Archive

mcbobbo wrote:

I see two equally valid resolutions:

A) Split the charge action into two actions, with the move qualifying the attack. The opponent's readied action can foil the attack action in response to the attack (ready fires before the attack, after the move), but would NOT foil it in response to the move (charger selects legal path instead, per the rules.) Actions are modified.

B) Keep the charge action (and other elements of the turn) whole and forbid this use of ready. As in, the charge happens, result determined, and then the ready happens (step, set lance, etc). You're still hit by the charge, but you wind up 5-feet away. Actions happen, results are modified.

The former takes the components and executes them in sequence. The latter depicts the actions happening at the same time, which makes more sense with things like counterspell and interrupting attacks.

c) allow the ready to break the charge as it is, but force the readier to make a reflex save vs the attack roll to move out of the way before being hit?

Just a thought.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Happler wrote:

c) allow the ready to break the charge as it is, but force the readier to make a reflex save vs the attack roll to move out of the way before being hit?

Just a thought.

Go here and flag it for FAQing, so maybe we can put an end to this discussion. We can do it!

Dark Archive

Jiggy wrote:
Happler wrote:

c) allow the ready to break the charge as it is, but force the readier to make a reflex save vs the attack roll to move out of the way before being hit?

Just a thought.

Go here and flag it for FAQing, so maybe we can put an end to this discussion. We can do it!

Already did, just throwing ideas around here now. :)

Shadow Lodge

Jiggy wrote:


Go click the FAQ button on the other thread I made. And maybe give it a bump while you're there.

I very much did. You were already at 12 by the time I left.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

mcbobbo wrote:
Jiggy wrote:


Go click the FAQ button on the other thread I made. And maybe give it a bump while you're there.
I very much did. You were already at 12 by the time I left.

Sweet, thanks guys!


I think the FAQ button works about as well as the "press button to cross crosswalk" buttons.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

BigNorseWolf wrote:
I think the FAQ button works about as well as the "press button to cross crosswalk" buttons.

Well, my thread about scroll failure from July, in which I collected about 20 FAQ clicks, got necro'd by SKR himself when he put up a new FAQ to answer the question I posed.

So I'm leaning toward "it does work".

Of course, that's assuming that they think the question is worth answering when they see it.

The Exchange

and it was able to get people to quite yelling at each other. Almost no activity on this thread sense you pointed out the FAQ button. (I think this is a good thing by the way. We had reached the point of growls and glares and might have drifted into name calling)


BigNorseWolf wrote:
I think the FAQ button works about as well as the "press button to cross crosswalk" buttons.

... the vast majority of which actually do work.

The problem is that many intersections, at peak times of the day, are programmed to always act as if the button has been pressed. So pressing the button at rush hour may not actually do anything more, whereas after 7 pm the "WALK" sign may never light at all if you don't press the button.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

AvalonXQ wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
I think the FAQ button works about as well as the "press button to cross crosswalk" buttons.

... the vast majority of which actually do work.

The problem is that many intersections, at peak times of the day, are programmed to always act as if the button has been pressed. So pressing the button at rush hour may not actually do anything more, whereas after 7 pm the "WALK" sign may never light at all if you don't press the button.

.....

You know, come to think of it, that does seem to match my experience. Looks like I learned something today! :D

201 to 219 of 219 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Readied action to step away from a charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.