Ultimate Combat PDF just released


Product Discussion

651 to 700 of 906 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

Is there a feat that would do is allow a character to treat an attribute as if it were 2 points higher just for the purpose of meeting a prerequisite for feats? or something like that?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

OMG!

Combat Patrol (APG) stacks with the Snap Shot line of feats (UC) to allow an archer ranged attacks of opportunity against anyone within 20-35 feet of him for doing pretty much anything. :D

Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase: "Everybody freeze!"


Ravingdork wrote:

OMG!

Combat Patrol (APG) stacks with the Snap Shot line of feats (UC) to allow an archer ranged attacks of opportunity against anyone within 20-35 feet of him for doing pretty much anything. :D

Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase: "Everybody freeze!"

I kinda doubt that was intended.

But, until it's fixed, make sure to be an Archer fighter that can trip his enemies.

Silver Crusade

mdt wrote:
brent norton wrote:


There is something thats just hot about a chic with a gun.....Oh, and big boobs. : )

LOL

She's kitted out too.

Two flintlock double barreled pistols (look double barreled).
Tri-corner hat with goggles (sniper goggles?)
Leather vest (with requisit low cut V down the front)
Cross-shaped Dagger
Short Sword
Armored Long Coat
Leather Chaps

You keep talking like this and I am going to need some private time. LOL just kidding. Sounds like a very Hoards and warmachine artwork. Which I like.


0gre wrote:


You've spent at least one level multi-classing to pick up the cleric ability, you spent a feat to increase it. It's definitely in the spirit of the feat. I would say yes.

Is there a feat (or trait) that let you increase channeling?

In UM or UC?
I would love if I could get more d6 to my channel since multi-classing hurts both spell progr. and channeling.


Phylactery of Positive/Negative channeling will give +2d6. There's no feat in general, last I checked.

Scarab Sages Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 4, Legendary Games

Kaiyanwang wrote:
Mynameisjake wrote:
Kaiyanwang wrote:

When will they realize that a scroll of an useful spell is far more easy than invest 2-3 precious feats in something that will end not working?

What does a scroll have to do with it?

Compare the resources invested in a scroll with those invested in takeing 2-3 feats or 2-3 rage powers to be a "caster killer". Compare flexibility. Something inside you will die a little.

But back o the book: more details on Vicious Stomp Please. The feat and the greater trip line would make the maneuver monk disturbingly awesome.

I think that falchions is an extinct weapon.

I'm puzzled by this whole scroll conversation. Is there some particular spell on a scroll that is being referenced here?


Ravingdork wrote:

OMG!

Combat Patrol (APG) stacks with the Snap Shot line of feats (UC) to allow an archer ranged attacks of opportunity against anyone within 20-35 feet of him for doing pretty much anything. :D

Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase: "Everybody freeze!"

As a note, unless I'm missing something... an archer can only make one AOO a turn using this feat line, regardless of Combat Reflexes, due to the inability to reload out of turn (as its a free action).

This is a little limiting, but still awesome.


Can someone tell me about the nine-ring broadword and seven-branched sword? They sound like rather interesting weapons.


IstariFortunae wrote:
Can someone tell me about the nine-ring broadword and seven-branched sword? They sound like rather interesting weapons.

Broadsword, 9 ring : One handed, same damage as long sword, 20x3 crit, monk weapon

Sword, 7 Branch : Exotic two-hander, monk, trip, 20x3, can also be used to make an opponent flat footed instead of triping. 1d10


KrispyXIV wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

OMG!

Combat Patrol (APG) stacks with the Snap Shot line of feats (UC) to allow an archer ranged attacks of opportunity against anyone within 20-35 feet of him for doing pretty much anything. :D

Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase: "Everybody freeze!"

As a note, unless I'm missing something... an archer can only make one AOO a turn using this feat line, regardless of Combat Reflexes, due to the inability to reload out of turn (as its a free action).

This is a little limiting, but still awesome.

Free actions can be done out of turn. There's nothing stopping you from saying something not during your turn, and talking is a free action.

At least I'm fairly certain on that.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Cheapy wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

OMG!

Combat Patrol (APG) stacks with the Snap Shot line of feats (UC) to allow an archer ranged attacks of opportunity against anyone within 20-35 feet of him for doing pretty much anything. :D

Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase: "Everybody freeze!"

I kinda doubt that was intended.

But, until it's fixed, make sure to be an Archer fighter that can trip his enemies.

Whatcha' talkin' 'bout? Considering the HEAVY feat investment and the fact that you have to give up your full attack on your turn, it's not at all unbalanced or in need of fixing.

REQUIREMENTS: BAB +9, Dex 15; Combat Patrol, Combat Reflexes, Dodge, Mobility, Improved Snap Shot, Point Blank Shot, Rapid Shot, Snap Shot, Weapon Focus.

Sorry, but for a 9 feat investment, me thinks that maybe it WAS intended, and even if it wasn't, it's fine as is.

KrispyXIV wrote:

As a note, unless I'm missing something... an archer can only make one AOO a turn using this feat line, regardless of Combat Reflexes, due to the inability to reload out of turn (as its a free action).

This is a little limiting, but still awesome.

Where does it say it is a free action to load? I checked the bow descriptions and the combat action table and it doesn't say anything about loading a bow requiring an action.


Ravingdork wrote:
Where does it say it is a free action to load?

Under Drawing or Sheath a Weapon, Combat section.

"Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action."

And as far as I know, you may not take Free Actions out of turn unless they specifically say you may.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
KrispyXIV wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Where does it say it is a free action to load?

Under Drawing or Sheath a Weapon, Combat section.

"Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action."

And as far as I know, you may not take Free Actions out of turn unless they specifically say you may.

How many arrows can you hold in one hand?

I'll just draw X arrows on my turn PRIOR to starting my combat patrol. :P

Obviously, your interpretation shouldn't apply in the case of attacks of opportunity, or else feats like Snap Shot or the Zen Archer's class abilities don't work as written (as you will never have any arrows when it isn't your turn).


PRD wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Nothing about limits on out of turnness.

Hmm...nothing about saying you can do it out of your turn either, and Immediate Action specifically says you can do it when it's not your turn.


Ravingdork wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Where does it say it is a free action to load?

Under Drawing or Sheath a Weapon, Combat section.

"Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action."

And as far as I know, you may not take Free Actions out of turn unless they specifically say you may.

How many arrows can you hold in one hand?

I'll just draw X arrows on my turn PRIOR to starting my combat patrol. :P

So with one hand holding a bunch of arrows, where are we getting two hands to wield the bow?

That would be the issue I see here :/

I'm not sure whether you were serious here or not though.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure that Immediate Actions are a pretty good indicator that you need a specific exception to act out of turn, sadly.


Cheapy wrote:
PRD wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Nothing about limits on out of turnness.

Hmm...nothing about saying you can do it out of your turn either, and Immediate Action specifically says you can do it when it's not your turn.

Emphasis mine. That phrase right there at least insinuates that it has to be your turn, as the free action has to happen while you're doing other things as well, like taking your turn.


KrispyXIV wrote:


So with one hand holding a bunch of arrows, where are we getting two hands to wield the bow?

That would be the issue I see here :/

I'm not sure whether you were serious here or not though.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure that Immediate Actions are a pretty good indicator that you need a specific exception to act out of turn, sadly.

So how does snap shot work? You wont have an arrow in hand at the end of your turn.


Shadow_of_death wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:


So with one hand holding a bunch of arrows, where are we getting two hands to wield the bow?

That would be the issue I see here :/

I'm not sure whether you were serious here or not though.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure that Immediate Actions are a pretty good indicator that you need a specific exception to act out of turn, sadly.

So how does snap shot work? You wont have an arrow in hand at the end of your turn.

Free action at the end of your turn to pull one last arrow?


ChrisRevocateur wrote:
Shadow_of_death wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:


So with one hand holding a bunch of arrows, where are we getting two hands to wield the bow?

That would be the issue I see here :/

I'm not sure whether you were serious here or not though.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure that Immediate Actions are a pretty good indicator that you need a specific exception to act out of turn, sadly.

So how does snap shot work? You wont have an arrow in hand at the end of your turn.
Free action at the end of your turn to pull one last arrow?

Yeah, I'd think it'd be identical to ending a turn with an bolt or a bullet loaded in a xbow or gun.


ChrisRevocateur wrote:


Free action at the end of your turn to pull one last arrow?

Then you could do the same with six arrows.


Shadow_of_death wrote:
ChrisRevocateur wrote:


Free action at the end of your turn to pull one last arrow?
Then you could do the same with six arrows.

And what? Hold them in your third hand?


ChrisRevocateur wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
PRD wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Nothing about limits on out of turnness.

Hmm...nothing about saying you can do it out of your turn either, and Immediate Action specifically says you can do it when it's not your turn.

Emphasis mine. That phrase right there at least insinuates that it has to be your turn, as the free action has to happen while you're doing other things as well, like taking your turn.

There's an action type called "Not an Action", and perhaps you're doing that when it's not your turn. Nocking an arrow is explicitly "Not an Action", btw. That doesn't say anything about withdrawing them.

The intent is that you can talk out of your turn, and at least in 3.5, talking was a free action. That implies you can do stuff outside of your own action.

Actually, looking it up,

PRD wrote:
When the rules refer to a “full round”, they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

So your turn is still going, even if you've used up all your use-up-able actions.

I'm guessing people often times think of rounds as people doing stuff, then sitting still until its their turn again, but that's not the case. Everyone is doing stuff at the same time, and "your turn" lasts until the moment before it's your next turn.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

This just came up in another thread. Free Actions can`t generally be taken off your turn, only Speaking says that.
Free Actions being an ACTION are otherwise subject to normal rules for actions, namely being taken on your turn (unless otherwise stated).
The wording on Free Actions at the very beginning of the Action section says they can INTERRUPT (take place during) other actions (i.e. mid-Full Attack), though that isn`t stated in the Free Action sub-section itself.

Anybody who can take AoO`s with Bow and Arrows will presumably knock an arrow before their turn ends...
Which means that anybody that can take these Ranged AoO`s CAN take advantage of the ability, just limited to that 1 AoO.
Repeating X-Bows or Dual-Wielding X-Bows would not have that problem... YAY FOR CROSSBOWS!
It would be good to get official clarification about that interaction...
The rules don`t exactly describe Bows & Arrows precisily enough to say that you CAN`T draw multiple arrows and hold them with your thumb ready to shoot one at a time.

@Cheapy: It doesn`t work like that. Read Immediate Action... along with the rest of the Combat Initiative rules. If you extend your logic, you would realize that it would mean that characters could be taking their actions at ANY point in the round without Readying or anything.
Yes, the game is simulating on-going simultaneous action, but many mechanics can and do depend on the difference between what happens on your turn and what happens off your turn. As I wrote above, there`s enough vagueness in the rules that a given GM could certainly allow drawing multiple arrows before your turn is over, so it isn`t `necessary` to break the Turn system like you suggest.

@TG: Somebody needs to draw in a picture of TG in the embraces of that trio of Dwarven ladies in the Rival Guide... ;-) (NSFW!)


Quandary wrote:

This just came up in another thread. Free Actions can`t generally be taken off your turn, only Speaking says that.

Free Actions being an ACTION are otherwise subject to normal rules for actions, namely being taken on your turn (unless otherwise stated).
The wording on Free Actions at the very beginning of the Action section says they can INTERRUPT (take place during) other actions (i.e. mid-Full Attack), though that isn`t stated in the Free Action sub-section itself.

Anybody who can take AoO`s with Bow and Arrows will presumably knock an arrow before their turn ends...
Which means that anybody that can take these Ranged AoO`s CAN take advantage of the ability, just limited to that 1 AoO. Repeating X-Bows or Dual-Wielding X-Bows would not have that problem... YAY FOR CROSSBOWS! It would be good to get official clarification about that interaction.

@TG: Somebody needs to draw in a picture of TG in the embraces of that trio of Dwarven ladies in the Rival Guide... ;-) (NSFW!)

So why does the zen archer explicitly mention you can take more with combat reflexes?


Shadow_of_death wrote:
So why does the zen archer explicitly mention you can take more with combat reflexes?

Hmm. Interesting.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Read my EDIT: The rules don`t exactly describe Bows & Arrows precisily enough to say that you CAN`T draw multiple arrows and hold them with your thumb ready to shoot one at a time.

So it`s not completely clear what you should allowed to do re: drawing arrows, until Paizo clarifies it.
Zen Archer MAY indicate the intent is to allow it, though the ability doesn`t actually indicate taking multiple ARCHERY AoO`s, i.e. could reflect Combat Reflexes allowing multiple AoO`s which aren`t all Archery AoO`s. I`d want feedback from Paizo before saying that the RAI is definitely one way or the other.

Incidentally, other parts of the rules also run into Free Action problems: Trip and Grab Monster Abilities both say they allow the free Maneuver as a Free Action, which is problematic for AoO`s. Rock Catching just doesn`t work per RAW since it by definition isn`t happening on turn, but in reaction to another`s actions (OK, if they Readied to throw a rock at you on your turn, you could spend the Free Action to catch it).


Let's take the Free Action thing here, I'd love to get an official response if we can get enough people to FAQ it.


Another question about the myrmidarch magus. I read somewhere on the thread that ranged spellstrike only works on spells that are a ranged touch attack. Can you use the reach metamagic to get around that?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
mdt wrote:
Beast Rider : Halfling female. Honestly, she'd be a better magus archetype.

Not a Beast Rider, that's an Emissary. Showing swift movement, the messenger bag with the scroll case at the bottom? The only other thing she could be is an Honor Guard, but then she should have a shield.


Matt Stich wrote:
Another question about the myrmidarch magus. I read somewhere on the thread that ranged spellstrike only works on spells that are a ranged touch attack. Can you use the reach metamagic to get around that?

Not specifically addressed in the book, but since you prepare it, I don't see why not.


Did the Gunslinger's level 11 ability "Lightning Reload" change in its wording from beta R2 to print? I ask because there was some confusion about it in another thread and I wanted to make sure the ability didn't change before I created a new thread about it in the rules section.

Thanks.


How viable does UC make a Synthesist/Monk build? I'm thinking a bite-focused Synthesist with a one or two-level Monk dip to grab Flurry and some feats for Feral Combat Style.


Cheapy wrote:
Feral Combat Training requires IUS and Weapon Focus. It lets you apply feats that require IUS to your natural weapon. Anything that augments your unarmed strike augments your natural weapon. If you're a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon when flurrying.

So...someone with a bite attack, Feral Combat Training, and Snatch Arrows can literally catch a bullet with their teeth?

...

SOLD.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

How does the natural attack progression interact with flurry though?

Say I have four claw attacks. Do I just get extra claw attacks when flurrying?

It's not like you can duel wield natural attacks like you can weapons (which is essentially what flurry is treated as).


Ravingdork wrote:

How does the natural attack progression interact with flurry though?

Say I have four claw attacks. Do I just get extra claw attacks when flurrying?

It's not like you can duel wield natural attacks like you can weapons (which is essentially what flurry is treated as).

How does it work now?

From my understanding, when you attack with a manufactures weapon, you do those iterative attacks, and if you had a natural weapon, you'd treat them as secondary.

It works the same way the FoB right?


well no. FOb acts if ya had a BAB= to your HD , two weapon fighting an the off hand weapon being light.

Shadow Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:

How does the natural attack progression interact with flurry though?

Say I have four claw attacks. Do I just get extra claw attacks when flurrying?

It's not like you can duel wield natural attacks like you can weapons (which is essentially what flurry is treated as).

I don't think it affects flurry at all. There are a ton of feats that say things like "When you use unarmed strike..." or "When you hit using unarmed strike...". This feat enables you to use those feats with your claws/ teeth/ talons/ whatever.

I would have to re-read the feat to see if there are some other things going on but that's what the intent was.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Cibulan wrote:

Did the Gunslinger's level 11 ability "Lightning Reload" change in its wording from beta R2 to print? I ask because there was some confusion about it in another thread and I wanted to make sure the ability didn't change before I created a new thread about it in the rules section.

Thanks.

Playtest

playtest Lightning Reload wrote:
Lightning Reload (Ex): At 11th level, as long as the gunslinger has at least 1 grit point, she can reload a single barrel of a one-handed or two-handed firearm as a swift action once per round. If she has Rapid Reload or is using an alchemical cartridge (or both), she can reload a single barrel of the weapon as a free action each round instead. Furthermore, using this deed does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

UC

Only word difference is adding Feat after Rapid Reload.


Dragnmoon wrote:
Cibulan wrote:

Did the Gunslinger's level 11 ability "Lightning Reload" change in its wording from beta R2 to print? I ask because there was some confusion about it in another thread and I wanted to make sure the ability didn't change before I created a new thread about it in the rules section.

Thanks.

Playtest

playtest Lightning Reload wrote:
Lightning Reload (Ex): At 11th level, as long as the gunslinger has at least 1 grit point, she can reload a single barrel of a one-handed or two-handed firearm as a swift action once per round. If she has Rapid Reload or is using an alchemical cartridge (or both), she can reload a single barrel of the weapon as a free action each round instead. Furthermore, using this deed does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

UC

Only word difference is adding Feat after Rapid Reload.

Thank you very much!


Before I dash out there's something I've got to know, if all and sundry would be so kind: What was changed about the Samurai from playtest to final version, if anything?


Earlier it was mentioned that the skirnir magus archetype was "really good at using them shields!", can I have more information on that?


Maxximilius wrote:

Cheapy, dear cheapy, is there anything in UC that allows to play this character ? No or light armor, pistol-whipping, flurrying shots ?

A chain of feats, an archetype, all at the same time ? I made myself sure to be heard during the playtests about this, and it is really the only hope I had for this book. So, verdict ?

Track down the Initiate of the Black Hand PrC on the boards. It has Equilibrium-ish-ness to it.

Though it probably needs to be modified with the new rules once I get UC.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Whoa, the Knifemaster archetype should really calm down the people who are quetching about the Ninja outclassing the Rogue.

The relevant part: You do xd8 sneak attack damage with knife weapons ( dagger, keramit, kukri, punching daggers, starknife, swordbreaker dagger ), while only doing xd4 with other weapons.

That's a pretty impressive damage boost, IMO.

Contributor

Cheapy wrote:
mdt wrote:


Beast Rider : Halfling female. Honestly, she'd be a better magus archetype.
I'm not sure that the cavalier image is supposed to be either. Just because it's on the same page, doesn't mean they're related. Seems more like Honor Guard maybe?

If I had to guess (and I do; although I wrote most of the cavalier section, I didn't pick the artwork), I'd say that the the cavalier artwork is an emissary, wearing a set of scale or piecemeal armor.


Brian Cortijo wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
mdt wrote:


Beast Rider : Halfling female. Honestly, she'd be a better magus archetype.
I'm not sure that the cavalier image is supposed to be either. Just because it's on the same page, doesn't mean they're related. Seems more like Honor Guard maybe?
If I had to guess (and I do; although I wrote most of the cavalier section, I didn't pick the artwork), I'd say that the the cavalier artwork is an emissary, wearing a set of scale or piecemeal armor.

Possible, it's a nice piece of artwork, just hard to match it to any specific archetype. Emissary fits.

Nice work by the way. :)

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
magnuskn wrote:


That's a pretty impressive damage boost, IMO.

Nice. Nice. Not thrilling, but nice.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Cheapy wrote:


I think the female bard is a Daredevil, not Dervish dancer. Dervish dancers don't get rapiers, which is what she's using!
mdt wrote:
Could be, I based it on the closest archetype to the picture unless it just didn't fit at all.

Yes, the freaking awesome bard that I was going on about earlier is definitely the Daredevil.

If you look at the pronouns used in the Dervish Dancer, they are all male. On the flipside, all the pronouns for the Daredevil are female.

Also, I'm guessing you are looking at the PDF correct? Note that the Daredevil is on page 32 and the illustration is on page 33. This means that in the printed book these would both be in view at the same time since those are facing pages. If you switch your PDF reader to 2-up/facing pages you'll see what I mean. :)

Have to admit, I'm really torn on whether to switch my bard (on whom that illustration was clearly based ;) from a Sea Singer to a Daredevil. Loss of Versatile Performance and World Traveler though would be pretty huge. Veeery tough choices here... very tough!


ChrisRevocateur wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
PRD wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Nothing about limits on out of turnness.

Hmm...nothing about saying you can do it out of your turn either, and Immediate Action specifically says you can do it when it's not your turn.

Emphasis mine. That phrase right there at least insinuates that it has to be your turn, as the free action has to happen while you're doing other things as well, like taking your turn.

Why doesn't the action of making an AoO count?


How does the mantis style look? Nice bonuses? Reasonable prereqs?

651 to 700 of 906 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Paizo Products / Product Discussion / Ultimate Combat PDF just released All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.