Need help on Meta Magic Feats


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Ok just curious metamagic feats talk about replacing a higher level slot. If I am a wizard who prepares spells and I have say the elemental spell feat(cold), and I come across a creature immune to fire, do I have to have a spell prepared to using the feat or can I just eliminate a higher level memorized spell to do so. Also if I am a spontaneous caster and using the same scenario, do I just use a higher level slot? The reason I ask is that it seems allot of the metamagic feats seem situational and if I memorize spells I can't always predict what I will face. Thanks


If you prepare spells for the day, you cannot use a metamagic feat (with some exceptions) except by preparing the spell as a metamagic spell when you prepare spells. Wizards of the Universal school can use a metamagic feat once a day starting at 8th level without preparing it ahead of time, and a metamagic rod allows you to modify a spell with the feat in the rod at the time of casting.

For spontaneous casters, you can apply any metamagic feat you know at the time of casting, using a higher level slot, and extending the casting time to a full round action (except for quicken spell, which makes it a quick action, and any spell that takes more than a full round to cast normally, which cannot have a metamagic feat applied to it anyway).


Jeff1964 wrote:
any spell that takes more than a full round to cast normally, which cannot have a metamagic feat applied to it anyway).

that is not actually true looking at the prd

prd wrote:


For a spell with a longer casting time, it takes an extra full-round action to cast the spell.

Liberty's Edge

meowstef wrote:
Jeff1964 wrote:
any spell that takes more than a full round to cast normally, which cannot have a metamagic feat applied to it anyway).

that is not actually true looking at the prd

prd wrote:


For a spell with a longer casting time, it takes an extra full-round action to cast the spell.

No, actually, you are incorrect.

If you are casting a prepared spell, you must choose to apply the feat when your spells are prepared, and you cannot apply it on the fly to a pre-memorized spell. The casting time of this modified spell is not increased.

If you are casting a spontaneous spell, you can only choose to apply the feat on the fly. The casting time of this modified spontaneous spell is increased - this is what the rules you reference refer to.

Note that neither of the above are dependent on what class you are. Clerics and Druids both normally prepare spells, but both have the ability to spontaneously cast certain spells as well.

A cleric who wants to prepare a Quickened Bless would have to reserve a 5th level spell slot when he prepares his spells, and casting it would be a swift action; if he wants to convert this spell into a Maximized Cure Moderate Wounds, he'll have to spend a full round casting the spell, because he's applying a metamagic feat to a spontaneous spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Need help on Meta Magic Feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.