Magus feats Q...


Rules Questions


Does a Magus qualify for feats that list as a prerequisite "wizard X"

For example, Spell Mastery ???

I'm assuming that since their casting is the same, that they do....but wanted to get some feedback.


I'd say yes. It sounds balanced to me and it makes sense too.


nighttree wrote:

Does a Magus qualify for feats that list as a prerequisite "wizard X"

For example, Spell Mastery ???

I'm assuming that since their casting is the same, that they do....but wanted to get some feedback.

Nope. No rule to cite, but Magus are not Wizards. They have their own spell list, class abilities, etc. They also have a different casting progression than wizards. (new spell levels at 4, 7, 10, rather than 3, 5, 7)


Grick wrote:


Nope. No rule to cite, but Magus are not Wizards. They have their own spell list, class abilities, etc. They also have a different casting progression than wizards. (new spell levels at 4, 7, 10, rather than 3, 5, 7)

I was refering to their spell preperation being the same :) They both prepare spells from a spellbook for the day. So mechanically they are both Int based/prepared/casters.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

As said above, it would be "no" They are not wizards. That would be like saying Druids qualify for feats that specified Cleric since they both pray for spells. Wizards and Magus have separate spell lists, just like druids and clerics have different lists. The only thing they have in common is the way they prepare them

Liberty's Edge

Again, the answer is "no".

"uses int to prepare arcane spells" =/= "has levels in the Wizard class, or an ability that counts as having levels in the Wizard class for determining feats". Period.

That said, it's a perfectly reasonable house rule. Spell Mastery is hardly a powerful feat, and if you are worried enough about losing your book to delay getting "weapon focus" or similar, I say have fun.

But technically, according to strict RAW (Rules As Written), the answer is no.


So much for my Spell mastery+Uncanny forethought dream....ah well, back to the drawing board ;)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
nighttree wrote:

Does a Magus qualify for feats that list as a prerequisite "wizard X"

For example, Spell Mastery ???

I'm assuming that since their casting is the same, that they do....but wanted to get some feedback.

No they do not. Nor can they cast spells which are designated Wizard only. One however might houserule specific feats like spell mastery to include any class that prepares spells from a written spellbook. It's better done this way than to make a general rule. (Yes this particular rule would exclude Witches. that's intentional)


As said above, the analogy is quite simple :

"Barbarians are fighters because they hit stuff. So they have access to Weapon Specs and fighter-only feats."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus feats Q... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.