Spell Area in 3 dimensions


Rules Questions


This came up during a recent game. Is it assumed that spell areas (in this case, the cone of Burning Hands) are three dimensional, so that a 15' cone terminates in a circle 15' in diameter? (Assuming the center of the cone is ground level, this would make it a half-circle 7.5 feet high)

Obviously, fireballs and the like are 3-d, but are all such effects?


Yeah. If not you would have to decide to limit them to the horizontal or vertical plane.


I all way thought that burning hands was a fan not a cone.
I look that up.


Zotpox wrote:

I all way thought that burning hands was an arc or a fan not a cone.

I look that up.

I believe in earlier editions it was described as a fan of fire.

Cones are three-dimensional objects.


OK, that seems to be a full consensus.


Lizard_SF wrote:

This came up during a recent game. Is it assumed that spell areas (in this case, the cone of Burning Hands) are three dimensional, so that a 15' cone terminates in a circle 15' in diameter? (Assuming the center of the cone is ground level, this would make it a half-circle 7.5 feet high)

Obviously, fireballs and the like are 3-d, but are all such effects?

Yup. Very useful to know and think about when considering Fly/Levitate or other modes of 3D movement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Area in 3 dimensions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.