Raise Dead on Level 2 character


Rules Questions


How would you handle this?
****
***
**
*
RAW, if you were to cast Raise Dead, Reincarnate or a smiliar spell on a 2nd level character, they would:
Come back to life
Gain 2 permanent negative levels
Die again

Seems a bit oversighted to me.


Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:

How would you handle this?

****
***
**
*
RAW, if you were to cast Raise Dead, Reincarnate or a smiliar spell on a 2nd level character, they would:
Come back to life
Gain 2 permanent negative levels
Die again

Seems a bit oversighted to me.

I believe that its in the negative level info block near the back where it says if the raise would kill you you take con damage instead.

EDIT: Can't find that but according to the srd you must get a restoration immediately after the raise is cast or it simply won't work


Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:

How would you handle this?

****
***
**
*
RAW, if you were to cast Raise Dead, Reincarnate or a smiliar spell on a 2nd level character, they would:
Come back to life
Gain 2 permanent negative levels
Die again

Seems a bit oversighted to me.

I think it is reasonable to assume that since a 1st lvl character takes 2 con drain, then a 2nd lvl character will take 1 negative level and 1 con drain.

I don't think spelling it out more precisely than it already is, is a necessity. The rules can be misinterpreted, but the intent is very clear.

Edit: forgotten word


In the twilight of their death run a solo adventure that nets them a lvl of experience. Then raise them and bring them to in the crapiness of real life. Though they floated free and fully powered in spirit form, the harsh reality come jolting back as they find even a halfling warrior could kick their butt in the land of the living.


Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:

RAW, if you were to cast Raise Dead, Reincarnate or a smiliar spell on a 2nd level character, they would:

Come back to life
Gain 2 permanent negative levels
Die again

Seems a bit oversighted to me.

No, not an oversight. They must receive restoration cast on them the following round.

"A creature whose permanent negative levels equal its Hit Dice cannot be brought back to life through spells like raise dead and resurrection without also receiving a restoration spell, cast the round after it is restored to life. (Core Rulebook p. 562)"


wouldn't they just become in effect 0 level?


Spacelard wrote:
wouldn't they just become in effect 0 level?

Nope. 0-level as a concept has vanished. I think Tim called it right.

Grand Lodge

Lathiira wrote:
Spacelard wrote:
wouldn't they just become in effect 0 level?
Nope. 0-level as a concept has vanished. I think Tim called it right.

Bring em back at level 1 but he "owes" the gods on this one and let the player know you WILL be calling in that debt!


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Some call me Tim wrote:
"A creature whose permanent negative levels equal its Hit Dice cannot be brought back to life through spells like raise dead and resurrection without also receiving a restoration spell, cast the round after it is restored to life. (Core Rulebook p. 562)"

Of course, by RAW, this would require a second caster and pretty good timing because Restoration has a casting time of one minute.


Blave wrote:
Some call me Tim wrote:
"A creature whose permanent negative levels equal its Hit Dice cannot be brought back to life through spells like raise dead and resurrection without also receiving a restoration spell, cast the round after it is restored to life. (Core Rulebook p. 562)"
Of course, by RAW, this would require a second caster and pretty good timing because Restoration has a casting time of one minute.

Details. Details.

Good catch.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Raise Dead on Level 2 character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.