Do spontaneous Mystic Theurges get to "swap out" spells?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If my character is a mystic theurge with sorcerer levels, does he still get to "swap out" old spells when he reaches an effective sorcerer level of 4, 6, 8, etc.?

I'm aware that the general rule is mystic theurge levels *only* grant you spells, and not any of the other class features. I'm wondering if most people would consider swapping out old spells to be a separate class feature (and thus something that the MT doesn't get to do), or something that's integral to how spontaneous casters gain spells (and thus something that a spontaneous MT would get to do)?

Liberty's Edge

Michael Gentry wrote:

If my character is a mystic theurge with sorcerer levels, does he still get to "swap out" old spells when he reaches an effective sorcerer level of 4, 6, 8, etc.?

I'm aware that the general rule is mystic theurge levels *only* grant you spells, and not any of the other class features. I'm wondering if most people would consider swapping out old spells to be a separate class feature (and thus something that the MT doesn't get to do), or something that's integral to how spontaneous casters gain spells (and thus something that a spontaneous MT would get to do)?

With spell "swap out" coming as part of the class feature called Spells, I would tend to think that a sorc/MT would get the option to swap out spells.


The ability to swap out spells is indeed an integral part of a spontaneous caster's spell casting. Such spell casters couldn't effectively function without this option since, as they advance, they'd either get saddled with redundant spells (such as different versions of summon monster) or ineffective spells (such as having the sleep spell at high levels) of which they would be unable to divest themselves. The only solution would be to neglect potentially useful (in the short term) spells in favor of those that are certain to remain useful over the long term. It'd be a crippling limitation; which is why the ability to swap spells was originally introduced in 3.5.


I don't have anything productive to add to this topic but I did want to know if anyone else thinks that the OPs avatar looks like Nicolas Cage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do spontaneous Mystic Theurges get to "swap out" spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.