Swift Action and Immediate Actions ~ Magus Features


Rules Questions


The new Magus class has a lot of good features and options. However, many of them take the form of a Swift Action or an Immediate Action to perform. I know you are limited to a single Swift Action per round... and an Immediate Action is like a swift action but can be done outside of your turn during initiative. So with this info I have a few items I would like some feedback on from the community.

1. Can you use both a Swift Action and an Immediate action in the same round... or does using one prevent you from using the other?

2. When does the "reset" hit on being able to use an Immediate action? (Since a swift action is on your turn that is easy to answer that one.)

If you go on 10 and you use a swift action on your turn, can you use an immediate action on 2 before the end of the round (such as casting feather fall)? What about on 15 next round but before you go again at 10?

As it stands you cannot use both Arcane Accuracy and the spell pool weapon enhancement in the same round as they are both swift actions; but it would be nice to be able to use spell shield or reflection defensively later in the round as an immediate action if needed.


You should read this:

PRD wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

1) No.

2) If you use an immediate, you can't use your swift the next turn. You COULD use an immediate anytime immediately after.


Thazar wrote:
When does the "reset" hit on being able to use an Immediate action?

The reset point is at the end of your turn.


My understanding is that you can use a swift action on your turn and an immediate action anytime before your turn rolls around again, but if you use an immediate action, you cannot take a swift action on the following turn.


Thanks for the replies all. They are the same limited action and the reset is at the end of your round. If you have used an immediate action you loose the option of getting one when you next act.

@ Kikanaide - Where in the PRD did you get the quote of the two paragraphs? I cannot find it on the PRD or the core rule book. I did find the section defining action types on pages 181-182 as well as a matching paragraph on the PRD. Not trying to argue or anything just wondering were it came from as I looked it up in both locations before posting and did not see what you found.

Liberty's Edge

Immediate Actions in PRD


Thank you for the link. I was looking about two pages up the PRD from that spot. :)


Thazar wrote:
Thank you for the link. I was looking about two pages up the PRD from that spot. :)

Seems that Shar Tahl not only beat me to it, but is better at links than I am. As it happens, you probably could have searched for a full sentence of the quote, but given that the PRD is broken up by chapter, I probably should have told you which chapter...


You can still trade down actions, right? I can exchange a move action for an extra swift if I need it.


HappyDaze wrote:
You can still trade down actions, right? I can exchange a move action for an extra swift if I need it.

As a houserule sure. There are only specific instances where you can use a different action for another one. Standard actions can be spent to do move actions, bardic music has options as you get higher in level, and a few other specific cases, but for the most part there is nothing that states you can trade a move action for an extra swift action.


Abraham spalding wrote:
HappyDaze wrote:
You can still trade down actions, right? I can exchange a move action for an extra swift if I need it.
As a houserule sure. There are only specific instances where you can use a different action for another one. Standard actions can be spent to do move actions, bardic music has options as you get higher in level, and a few other specific cases, but for the most part there is nothing that states you can trade a move action for an extra swift action.

Given that swift actions tend to be much stronger than move actions, allowing that trade down can significantly increase the power of characters who don't do full-round actions (such as spellcasters) but have lots of swift action options. I won't say not to make that house rule, but be aware of the ramifications.


If you allow a move to work for a swift you have to be prepared to have a single wizard cast say three fire balls on the same turn.

one with a standard action, one quickened with a Swift Action, and another quickened one with a move action turned into a swift action. (this is even easier with a metamagic rod of quickening.

Or even worse they use a save or die spell on your BBEG in the same way and he has to make three saves in one round or be knocked out of the fight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swift Action and Immediate Actions ~ Magus Features All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.