Questions about alchemist brewing potions


Rules Questions


I have done a search and I can't find a conclusion to this question:

Can an alchemist brew any potion he wants by raising the DC (i.e. doesn't need to have the spell known) as long as that spell is legally allowed to be a potion (i.e. 3rd level or lower, not personal).

Basically, I want to know if I need to know the spell or not when making a potion. My search turned up answers on both sides and the FAQ did not mention anything.


"A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell."

So you can't create potions of spells that you can't know at your level, which is a good upper bound.

"These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet."

The interpretation that I use from this is one of 2 things:

1) The alchemist knows the spell and can create the potion, no problems.
2) The alchemist doesn't know the spell, but seeks outside help and adds a +5 to the DC to craft the potion.

Either way, the spell must be known and cast per each day of crafting.
Hope that helps.


Kerobelis wrote:

I have done a search and I can't find a conclusion to this question:

Can an alchemist brew any potion he wants by raising the DC (i.e. doesn't need to have the spell known) as long as that spell is legally allowed to be a potion (i.e. 3rd level or lower, not personal).

Basically, I want to know if I need to know the spell or not when making a potion. My search turned up answers on both sides and the FAQ did not mention anything.

There's a brand, spanking new FAQ entry that answers the question:

No, you actually have to know the spell.


hogarth wrote:
Kerobelis wrote:

I have done a search and I can't find a conclusion to this question:

Can an alchemist brew any potion he wants by raising the DC (i.e. doesn't need to have the spell known) as long as that spell is legally allowed to be a potion (i.e. 3rd level or lower, not personal).

Basically, I want to know if I need to know the spell or not when making a potion. My search turned up answers on both sides and the FAQ did not mention anything.

There's a brand, spanking new FAQ entry that answers the question:

No, you actually have to know the spell.

So does that mean that, since alchemists don't technically know any spells, they can't make any potions? ;-)


No one knows.

Its part of the FUBAR magic item creation rules. There's at least 5 good raw ways to interpret them.

Quote:
So does that mean that, since alchemists don't technically know any spells, they can't make any potions? ;-)

Yes actually. Without the alchemists special ability they wouldn't be able to brew potions at all, even with the feat.

At 1st level, alchemists receive Brew Potion as a bonus feat. An alchemist can brew potions of any formulae he knows (up to 3rd level), using his alchemist level as his caster level(bnw-he otherwise would not have a caster level at all). The spell must be one that can be made into a potion. The alchemist does not need to meet the prerequisites for this feat.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

No one knows.

Its part of the FUBAR magic item creation rules. There's at least 5 good raw ways to interpret them.

Quote:
So does that mean that, since alchemists don't technically know any spells, they can't make any potions? ;-)

Yes actually. Without the alchemists special ability they wouldn't be able to brew potions at all, even with the feat.

At 1st level, alchemists receive Brew Potion as a bonus feat. An alchemist can brew potions of any formulae he knows (up to 3rd level), using his alchemist level as his caster level(bnw-he otherwise would not have a caster level at all). The spell must be one that can be made into a potion. The alchemist does not need to meet the prerequisites for this feat.

Presumably, the Alchemist could be aided by another caster to make potions for spells that are not alchemical formulae known by the alchemist, as per the standard use of the feat, but with that new FAQ answer, the spell must be provided somehow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about alchemist brewing potions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.