Cleric spell slots and arcane spells


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?


LordZod wrote:
If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?

Clerics don't get arcane spells. If a spell that's normally arcane shows up on their domain list, then they cast it as a divine spell. If it's not normally on the cleric's spell list, then they can only prepare it in their domain spell slots.

So a cleric could cast a spell that's normally an arcane spell multiple times per day, but only by using up domain slots from higher levels than the spell. They couldn't prepare it in a non-domain slot.

Liberty's Edge

Bobson wrote:
LordZod wrote:
If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?

Clerics don't get arcane spells. If a spell that's normally arcane shows up on their domain list, then they cast it as a divine spell. If it's not normally on the cleric's spell list, then they can only prepare it in their domain spell slots.

So a cleric could cast a spell that's normally an arcane spell multiple times per day, but only by using up domain slots from higher levels than the spell. They couldn't prepare it in a non-domain slot.

Right but what's the point of the healing domain cure spells then? They can always be cast spontaneously why burn a domain slot on them?


LordZod wrote:
Bobson wrote:
LordZod wrote:
If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?

Clerics don't get arcane spells. If a spell that's normally arcane shows up on their domain list, then they cast it as a divine spell. If it's not normally on the cleric's spell list, then they can only prepare it in their domain spell slots.

So a cleric could cast a spell that's normally an arcane spell multiple times per day, but only by using up domain slots from higher levels than the spell. They couldn't prepare it in a non-domain slot.

Right but what's the point of the healing domain cure spells then? They can always be cast spontaneously why burn a domain slot on them?

Possibly you're a evil cleric or a neutral cleric who channels negative energy - then you can only spontaneously cast inflict spells. Or maybe you're another class that gets access to one domain, and so get to add all the cure spells to your spell list that way. Or maybe you just prepare your other domain's spells instead.


Bobson wrote:
Possibly you're a evil cleric or a neutral cleric who channels negative energy - then you can only spontaneously cast inflict spells. Or maybe you're another class that gets access to one domain, and so get to add all the cure spells to your spell list that way. Or maybe you just prepare your other domain's spells instead.

Yes, you have another domain. If you're the only healer in a group, you might want those spells, anyway, after some costly encounters.

That, and the healing domain has some nice benefits. Empowered cure spells? Everybody likes that!

Liberty's Edge

Also, with anything but the Healing Domain you can't use your Domain slots for healing...the only slots you can't do this with. So if you really need that extra healing, it's Healing Domain or nothing.


Lord Zod,

Lets talk quickly about the healing domain. Empower to all healing spells. That is pretty decent, gain that at level 6 better than level 8.

Spells sure the cure spells arent that great but your 5th level is perhaps the most powerful in the cleric spell list.

If you don't like the domain spells you can choose a subdomain if your god has a subdomain for healing.

Btw I think I was your Dm on saturday.


Also, rebuke death is pretty sweet at low levels. With a good wisdom modifier, you're looking at 7d4 healing/day, if your party is dying a lot. And, trust me, if your party is dying that much, you'll be happy to have the ability.

Later levels, that 7d4 looks less impressive - but so does most healing, since people by wands of CLW and call it done. Empowered cure is nice, though, especially without having to "pay" for it with higher level slots.

Liberty's Edge

Bobson wrote:
LordZod wrote:
If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?

Clerics don't get arcane spells. If a spell that's normally arcane shows up on their domain list, then they cast it as a divine spell. If it's not normally on the cleric's spell list, then they can only prepare it in their domain spell slots.

So a cleric could cast a spell that's normally an arcane spell multiple times per day, but only by using up domain slots from higher levels than the spell. They couldn't prepare it in a non-domain slot.

Page 206 states "Once you've cast a prepared spell you can't cast it again until ypi prepare it again."

Under this text DM says I can't cast a domain spell more than once per day unless its a cast and that cleric needs 8 hours of sleep to get spells back. Manual implied to me this was done through 1 hour of meditation and sleep is irrelevant.

Who's right on these matters?


LordZod wrote:
Bobson wrote:
LordZod wrote:
If a cleric has access to an arcane spelll, and prepares it in a domain slot can he cast it multiple times per day up to the daily limit for that level? Furthermore would a cleric need to spend two slots on his divine spells to cast it more than once per day if it isn't a cure spell?

Clerics don't get arcane spells. If a spell that's normally arcane shows up on their domain list, then they cast it as a divine spell. If it's not normally on the cleric's spell list, then they can only prepare it in their domain spell slots.

So a cleric could cast a spell that's normally an arcane spell multiple times per day, but only by using up domain slots from higher levels than the spell. They couldn't prepare it in a non-domain slot.

Page 206 states "Once you've cast a prepared spell you can't cast it again until ypi prepare it again."

Under this text DM says I can't cast a domain spell more than once per day unless its a cast and that cleric needs 8 hours of sleep to get spells back. Manual implied to me this was done through 1 hour of meditation and sleep is irrelevant.

Who's right on these matters?

What is meant by that is that you can only cast spells that you have actually prepared, i.e. you cannot just cast any spell on your list. You certainly are not blocked from preparing the same spell more than once per day, if that is what you mean.

And yes, Manual is right: Divine casters do not need sleep to be able to prepare spells. They just become tired after some time... :-)
And the cleric - as a prepared caster - requires up to one hour to prepare all his spells, less if he only fills his slots partially.


Sangalor wrote:

And yes, Manual is right: Divine casters do not need sleep to be able to prepare spells. They just become tired after some time... :-)

And the cleric - as a prepared caster - requires up to one hour to prepare all his spells, less if he only fills his slots partially.

Just to note - it's one hour once a day at a time based on your deity and how you follow them (i.e. once a day whenever the player declares, unless the deity has specific restrictions). You can't blow through all your spells and then immediately spend an hour getting them back.


Bobson wrote:
Sangalor wrote:

And yes, Manual is right: Divine casters do not need sleep to be able to prepare spells. They just become tired after some time... :-)

And the cleric - as a prepared caster - requires up to one hour to prepare all his spells, less if he only fills his slots partially.
Just to note - it's one hour once a day at a time based on your deity and how you follow them (i.e. once a day whenever the player declares, unless the deity has specific restrictions). You can't blow through all your spells and then immediately spend an hour getting them back.

Good addition... Yeah, one gets all spell slots once every 24 hours, plus the spells slots spent in the last 8 hours before preparing again are not regained until the next time you prepare :-)

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

clerics can only prepare spells at a particular time of daylike dusk, or dawn, and that time is based off your god or picked when you take your first cleric level.

Liberty's Edge

So if I want to cast a buff twice I need to prepare it twice or just once? Also would I lose the domain spell after I cast it until I prepared it again?


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
LordZod wrote:
So if I want to cast a buff twice I need to prepare it twice or just once? Also would I lose the domain spell after I cast it until I prepared it again?

You would need to prepare it twice to cast it twice. The domain spell, once cast is spent until you prepare spells again the next time (as noted above, once per 24 hour period).

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber

As a cleric each prepared spell is one casting of that spell. Thus if you wanted to be able to cast the same buff spell twice you would need to prepare it twice using up two spell slots of that level (or higher if you like). Your domain slots you get work exactly the same. You get one extra slot at each spell level you can cast, these spell slots can only be used to prepare the spells listed in your domains. However as per normal spells you can use a higher level slot to prepare a lower level spell.

Liberty's Edge

So is a DM wrong to tell his player "no, you can't meditate for an hour at that time and get your spells back" because you haven't slept for 8 hours? I realize 'the DM is always right' but this was an issue in a homebrew campaign I played in once.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

I don't think there's any specific language in PF that says you HAVE to sleep to get your spells back as a cleric. I believe there was in 3.5.

However, that said, as a cleric you have to choose a set time each day where you spend 1 hour in prayer and meditation to regain your daily allotment of spells. You could not pray/meditate an additional time during the day to replenish your spells again (with or without sleep).

If you go without sleep for too long, other game penalties start applying, such as the fatigued/exhausted effects that can't be gotten rid of without rest/magic.


Sniggevert wrote:

I don't think there's any specific language in PF that says you HAVE to sleep to get your spells back as a cleric. I believe there was in 3.5.

However, that said, as a cleric you have to choose a set time each day where you spend 1 hour in prayer and meditation to regain your daily allotment of spells. You could not pray/meditate an additional time during the day to replenish your spells again (with or without sleep).

If you go without sleep for too long, other game penalties start applying, such as the fatigued/exhausted effects that can't be gotten rid of without rest/magic.

There aren't rules for getting exhausted by not resting, save by overland movement. And if you have lesser restoration, you can banish fatigue anyway....


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Lathiira wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:

I don't think there's any specific language in PF that says you HAVE to sleep to get your spells back as a cleric. I believe there was in 3.5.

However, that said, as a cleric you have to choose a set time each day where you spend 1 hour in prayer and meditation to regain your daily allotment of spells. You could not pray/meditate an additional time during the day to replenish your spells again (with or without sleep).

If you go without sleep for too long, other game penalties start applying, such as the fatigued/exhausted effects that can't be gotten rid of without rest/magic.

There aren't rules for getting exhausted by not resting, save by overland movement. And if you have lesser restoration, you can banish fatigue anyway....

OK...well there should be ;) That's what you get trying to put realism in fantasy sometimes, heh.

Liberty's Edge

SRD Cleric wrote:
Each cleric must choose a time at which she must spend 1 hour each day in quiet contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. Time spent resting has no effect on whether a cleric can prepare spells.
Preparing Divine Spells wrote:
A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells

After briefly going through the Core Rulebook I was able to find this. Of course the recent casting limit of 8 hours still applies, so a Cleric cannot get their spells back whenever they want by simply meditating for an hour.

Thanks for your help gentlemen


LordZod wrote:
SRD Cleric wrote:
Each cleric must choose a time at which she must spend 1 hour each day in quiet contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. Time spent resting has no effect on whether a cleric can prepare spells.
Preparing Divine Spells wrote:
A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells

After briefly going through the Core Rulebook I was able to find this. Of course the recent casting limit of 8 hours still applies, so a Cleric cannot get their spells back whenever they want by simply meditating for an hour.

Thanks for your help gentlemen

"Time spent resting has no effect on whether a cleric can prepare spells." Ergo, 8 hours, shm8 hours. I'm a cleric, my spells are tapped. I choose to retreat to a safe place, right now, commune with my deity for an hour, and he/she grants me another allotment. Easy peasy. Casters would be complete weaksauce and everyone would be fighters and rangers and just stack potions if that were true.


Why did you necro a 3 year old thread for that? Regardless clerics have a time based on their god they do their prayers at. They otherwise can't replace their spells outside of that time. It was mentioned several times in the necroed thread.


That is why timezones were invented, just teleport to wherever it is the right time - ;)

Grand Lodge

Note: Clerics, like other prepared spellcasters, don't have to fill all their spell slots at that time, but it is the time that they can prepare the bulk of their spells.

Note 2: Clerics, like Wizards, can use magic items, like Pearls of Power, to regain a cast spell, so can, with gold expense, cast the same spell multiple times when only having it prepared once.


Rikkan wrote:
That is why timezones were invented, just teleport to wherever it is the right time - ;)

That actually cracked me up :D


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Cards, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
LordZod wrote:
SRD Cleric wrote:
Each cleric must choose a time at which she must spend 1 hour each day in quiet contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. Time spent resting has no effect on whether a cleric can prepare spells.
Preparing Divine Spells wrote:
A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells
HotSouthernWind wrote:
"Time spent resting has no effect on whether a cleric can prepare spells." Ergo, 8 hours, shm8 hours. I'm a cleric, my spells are tapped. I choose to retreat to a safe place, right now, commune with my deity for an hour, and he/she grants me another allotment. Easy peasy. Casters would be complete weaksauce and everyone would be fighters and rangers and just stack potions if that were true.

(bolding mine)

Wrong. The first quote specifically states that you have a set time of day to get your spells back. Let's say that time is dawn. If you have cast any spells in the previous 8 hours (say, during a nighttime encounter) those slots are unavailable for recharge, but otherwise you can regain all your spell slots at dawn.

If you're down in the dungeon (or anywhere) at 3PM and want to recharge your spell slots, you can't just rest from 3PM to 4PM to get them back. You can only do that at dawn.

If, at dawn, you don't fill those spell slots, there are rules for filling them at a later time. But if they are expended after dawn, you're stuck waiting until the next dawn to get them back.

Casters are still not "complete weaksauce" compared to "fighters and rangers". They are almost universally acknowledged to be the most powerful characters in the game. And those rules for regaining your spell slots once a day, at a specific time, are there precisely to keep them from being even more overpowered than they already are. It all has to do with resource management. Blow all your spells on the first encounter, and you are SoL for the rest of the day.

Want more versatility? Carry scrolls, wands and other items. Or be a spontaneous divine caster and select spells at the last minute lmike a sorcerer (don't recall the names of those spontaneous divine caster classes, but there are several).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Cleric spell slots and arcane spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.