Summoner's limit on number of monsters active


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

So I played a PFS module with a summoner tonight that was able to get 6 minions out in one encounter. The entire module was essentially combat after combat, so the DM allowed his summoned creatures to stay for the minutes they were out. It left me thinking "Wow, I need to make a summoner because that's really cool".

The Summoner had a Charisma mod of 3, so he correctly notes he could cast Summon Monster I as a spell like ability 6 times per day. But wouldn't each summoned creature replace the previous one, or is there some errata or feat that allows for this? The APG description of Summoner seems to imply only one summoned creature can be active at a time. I didn't want to say anything and be a rule monger when I didn't know what I was talking about.


The summon monster spell and summon monster SLA for the Summoner are two different things.

I think you are talking about the SLA. With the SLA only one casting is allowed at a time. You were correct.

rulebook, pfsrd wrote:
A summoner cannot have more than one summon monster or gate spell active in this way at one time.


I'm confused. are we talking a conjured focused on summoning? or a summoner class? and of do why the hevk would he have. 3 Cha


Mojorat wrote:
I'm confused. are we talking a conjured focused on summoning? or a summoner class? and of do why the hevk would he have. 3 Cha

He was asking about the summoner class and its SLA. A summoner can use the summon monster SLA a number of time per day equal to 3+cha mod


right, but people do not make 3 int summoners do sla have a min of 1 per day? otherwise he'd be able to use it zero times.


Mojorat wrote:
right, but people do not make 3 int summoners do sla have a min of 1 per day? otherwise he'd be able to use it zero times.

The SLA is last one minute per level, and I did not see anything about a 3 intelligence.

PS:The summoner is charisma based, not that I would think a 3 int character should ever be allowed.

Scarab Sages

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Psst...he said a Charisma Mod of 3, ie a Charisma of 16 or 17.


meh so much for reading comprehension on my part.

Grand Lodge

LordZod wrote:
The Summoner had a Charisma mod of 3, so he correctly notes he could cast Summon Monster I as a spell like ability 6 times per day. But wouldn't each summoned creature replace the previous one, or is there some errata or feat that allows for this? The APG description of Summoner seems to imply only one summoned creature can be active at a time. I didn't want to say anything and be a rule monger when I didn't know what I was talking about.
APG, pg 57. wrote:
A summoner cannot have more than one summon monster or gate spell active in this way at one time. If this ability is used again, any existing summon monster or gate immediately ends.


A summoner can have one min/lvl monster at any time, and it can't normally be out while his eidolon is. However, there's no limit on the number of actual summon monster spells that can be active at once, aside from the rnd/lvl duration. So a 20th level summoner could have 21 things in play (20 from spells, and one eidolon/SLA).


Yar!

As mentioned, the SLA summons + Eidolon of a summoner are limited to one casting at a time. However, this does not always mean 1 creature.

If you cast SM II, you can have 1 creature from the II list, or 1d3 creatures from the I list. If you cast SM III, you can have 1 creature from the III list, 1d3 from the II list, or 1d4+1 from the I list. etc.

So it is possible to have multiple creatures out with a single casting of a summon monster spell. Thus it is also possible to create a massive, huge, heinous and hideous swarm of creatures using the SM spells. But with the SLA summons, only one instance of creature(s) brought forth by them can be present at one time.

Just a random bit of info. ^_^

~P


Bobson wrote:
A summoner can have one min/lvl monster at any time, and it can't normally be out while his eidolon is. However, there's no limit on the number of actual summon monster spells that can be active at once, aside from the rnd/lvl duration. So a 20th level summoner could have 21 things in play (20 from spells, and one eidolon/SLA).

Actually that's not entirely true. It says using his SLA while his Eidolon is out will dismiss his Eidolon. There is nothing about the opposite case however, where he calls his Eidolon after his SLA has been used (note, they never notate the summoning of the Eidolon as 'summoning'. It's always 'calling'). And since the SLA lasts minutes per level, it is entirely possible by level 5 or so to have an SLA out and an Eidolon out simultaneously.


E I wrote:
Bobson wrote:
A summoner can have one min/lvl monster at any time, and it can't normally be out while his eidolon is. However, there's no limit on the number of actual summon monster spells that can be active at once, aside from the rnd/lvl duration. So a 20th level summoner could have 21 things in play (20 from spells, and one eidolon/SLA).
Actually that's not entirely true. It says using his SLA while his Eidolon is out will dismiss his Eidolon. There is nothing about the opposite case however, where he calls his Eidolon after his SLA has been used (note, they never notate the summoning of the Eidolon as 'summoning'. It's always 'calling'). And since the SLA lasts minutes per level, it is entirely possible by level 5 or so to have an SLA out and an Eidolon out simultaneously.

RAW you are correct, but I think the intention is clear, and not too many GM's will allow you* to use loop holes to get by.

*By "you" I mean players in general.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoner's limit on number of monsters active All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions