Scribe Scroll Question


Rules Questions


I play a wizard in a game, and I have Scribe Scroll as a class feat. There is a ranger in the party that can cast the spell Gravity Bow, which happens to also be on my wizard's spell list.

I understand that my wizard can't cast Gravity Bow on the ranger, but can I scribe scrolls of Gravity Bow and let the ranger use them to cast it himself?

Further, can a cleric in the group, who picked Scribe Scroll as a feat, scribe the spell Summon Monster III and allow my wizard to learn the spell from that scroll as it is on both our spell lists?

Thanks in Advance!


Scrolls are the one magical item that differentiates between arcane and divine spells. As such if a wizard writes a scroll of gravity bow then it is an arcane spell of gravity bow and the ranger (who casts divine spells) cannot use it normally. The same thing happens to the wizard if he tries to use a scroll of summon monster 3 written by a cleric.

This issue does not affect wands however -- so if your wizard was to make a wand of gravity bow then the ranger could use it (and the wizard could use a wand of summon monster 3 crafted by a cleric with no problems).


Abraham spalding wrote:
Scrolls are the one magical item that differentiates between arcane and divine spells.

So if my wizard finds a scroll of Summon Monster III in a "dungeon", the GM has to keep track if it is divine or arcane? And thus all scrolls on all character sheets have to keep track too. Sounds cumbersome.

Okay, so can either my wizard or the party cleric (both with Scribe Scroll) assist the ranger to create scribed scrolls of Gravity Bow?

(if not, then 99.7% of all scrolls of Gravity Bow in existence are going to be arcane versions... heh)


Rory wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Scrolls are the one magical item that differentiates between arcane and divine spells.

So if my wizard finds a scroll of Summon Monster III in a "dungeon", the GM has to keep track if it is divine or arcane? And thus all scrolls on all character sheets have to keep track too. Sounds cumbersome.

Okay, so can either my wizard or the party cleric (both with Scribe Scroll) assist the ranger to create scribed scrolls of Gravity Bow?

(if not, then 99.7% of all scrolls of Gravity Bow in existence are going to be arcane versions... heh)

The magic item creation rules vary from vauge to contradictory on whether or not that would work. As I'm reading it , you have to scribe your own scrolls, you can't have someone do it for you or take dictation.


You've outline many of the problems and issues correctly. Overall it's a difficult thing to deal with and many GMs do simply houserule this -- however by RAW and RAI and everything else in the book it is there.


Rory wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Scrolls are the one magical item that differentiates between arcane and divine spells.

So if my wizard finds a scroll of Summon Monster III in a "dungeon", the GM has to keep track if it is divine or arcane? And thus all scrolls on all character sheets have to keep track too. Sounds cumbersome.

Okay, so can either my wizard or the party cleric (both with Scribe Scroll) assist the ranger to create scribed scrolls of Gravity Bow?

(if not, then 99.7% of all scrolls of Gravity Bow in existence are going to be arcane versions... heh)

If the cleric has the scribe scroll feat, he can craft gravity bow scrolls but only with the wizards or the ranger's help (either the wizard or the ranger will be providing the spell to the cleric). Voila a divine scroll of gravity bow.


Abraham spalding wrote:
This issue does not affect wands however -- so if your wizard was to make a wand of gravity bow then the ranger could use it (and the wizard could use a wand of summon monster 3 crafted by a cleric with no problems).

I was under the impression that you could not make wands or potions of "personal" spells. PF might have altered that, I don't know.

Curious, can you make a Potion of Gravity Bow since you can make a Wand of Gravity Bow?


Rory wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
This issue does not affect wands however -- so if your wizard was to make a wand of gravity bow then the ranger could use it (and the wizard could use a wand of summon monster 3 crafted by a cleric with no problems).

I was under the impression that you could not make wands or potions of "personal" spells. PF might have altered that, I don't know.

Curious, can you make a Potion of Gravity Bow since you can make a Wand of Gravity Bow?

Potions no wands yes.

Potions have specific language that prevents personal use spell being made into potions -- wands do not have that language and can be made of any spell 4th level or lower.


Rory wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
This issue does not affect wands however -- so if your wizard was to make a wand of gravity bow then the ranger could use it (and the wizard could use a wand of summon monster 3 crafted by a cleric with no problems).

I was under the impression that you could not make wands or potions of "personal" spells. PF might have altered that, I don't know.

Curious, can you make a Potion of Gravity Bow since you can make a Wand of Gravity Bow?

Wands are not covered by the "no Self only" restriction of potions, since the base assumption is that someone using a wand has it on their class list already: so if they can use a wand of true strike they can already theoretically cast true strike. Potions on the other hand are for the general public.

Liberty's Edge

Rory wrote:
So if my wizard finds a scroll of Summon Monster III in a "dungeon", the GM has to keep track if it is divine or arcane? And thus all scrolls on all character sheets have to keep track too.

yep.

Rory wrote:
Sounds cumbersome.

Yep.

Feel free to ignore this; it's one of the few leftover rules from earlier editions that got grandfathered in.


BobChuck wrote:

[

Feel free to ignore this; it's one of the few leftover rules from earlier editions that got grandfathered in.

Or not if you prefer to see it more as a limiting factor to casters.

Of course I would rather the scrolls be in a language of magic (celestial, aklo, abyssal, draconic, elvish, etc) and a caster who had the spell on his list regardless of class could use the scroll IF they could read the language (via linguistics, tongues, comp languages, read magic, what have you).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scribe Scroll Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.