"Attack action", and where's the FAQ?


Rules Questions


I have memories of reading a FAQ and lots of good information about Vital Strike and thinking "when I get that feat I'll need to read all that stuff".

Now I have the feat but cannot, for the life of me, find where the FAQ has gone...

So anyway, where in the rulebook is "attack action" defined?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

It's not defined. I really wish they had added an entry codifying it as a Standard Attack. Then you would have Standard Attack and Full Attack, for Standard Action and Full Round Action. And we wouldn't have so many questions about what you can use when.


Ki_Ryn wrote:

I have memories of reading a FAQ and lots of good information about Vital Strike and thinking "when I get that feat I'll need to read all that stuff".

Now I have the feat but cannot, for the life of me, find where the FAQ has gone...

So anyway, where in the rulebook is "attack action" defined?

There's a summary here of various official and unofficial rulings:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/extras/pathfinder-faq#TOC-Vital-Strike-8-20-10-


Under the combat section if you look at "Actions In Combat" you will see "Action Types". Under that is Standard Actions which Attack is one of them. List below that is a list of attack action which are Melee, ranged, natural, and unarmed. All of these are standard actions. So all attack action are standard action but not all Standard Actions are attack actions.


chrids wrote:
Ki_Ryn wrote:

I have memories of reading a FAQ and lots of good information about Vital Strike and thinking "when I get that feat I'll need to read all that stuff".

Now I have the feat but cannot, for the life of me, find where the FAQ has gone...

So anyway, where in the rulebook is "attack action" defined?

There's a summary here of various official and unofficial rulings:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/extras/pathfinder-faq#TOC-Vital-Strike-8-20-10-

Man reading that link to the old faq entries was funny. Several back and forths later it seems they finally made up their mind on it though.


Reading the FAQ for Pathfinder I get:

Quote:

Q: Since disarm, sunder, and trip are attack actions (not standard maneuvers like bull rush, overrun, or grapple), does the Weapon Finesse feat allow the fighter to use his Dex to calculate his CMB for those specific attacks? Or would I need Agile Maneuvers no matter what maneuver I wanted?

A: (James Jacobs) Weapon Finesse, Weapon Focus, and similar feats would only apply when you're attempting a combat maneuver with that weapon. For the most part, this would be limited to things like disarm or sunder or MAYBE trip. You wouldn't get this bonus to things like overrun, bull rush, or grapple that don't use a weapon attack as part of their requirements. Agile Maneuvers applies to EVERY maneuver every time.

This question states that disarm, sunder and trip are attack actions (not standard actions).

I note here that:

1) Calling disarm, trip and sunder attack actions was not corrected as if it were wrong.

and

2) they were linked as being similar and again not corrected.

I see lots of wrangling over this and from my perspective it seems clear.

Going back to the 3.5 FAQ sunder can be used in a full attack action.

Going by the RAW it *seems* intuitive that sunder can be used in a full attack action and it's *ambiguous* at best.

Going by questions in the Pathfinder FAQ it seems that sunder is like trip and disarm.

Arguing over this stems from the vital attack clarification which doesn't seem to cover anything other than... vital attack.


Ckorik: That answer isn't in the official FAQ.

Here's the official FAQ for the Pathfinder Core Rulebook.

***

However, essentially the same question was answered in the official FAQ, but with no mention of the "attack action":

FAQ wrote:

Weapon Finesse: If I have this feat, can I apply my Dex bonus to my combat maneuver checks instead of my Strength bonus?

It depends on what combat maneuver you're attempting. Disarm, sunder, and trip are normally the only kinds of combat maneuvers in which you’re actually using a weapon to perform the maneuver, and therefore the weapon’s bonuses apply to the roll. Therefore, if you're attempting a disarm, sunder, or trip maneuver, you can apply your Dex bonus instead of your Str mod on the combat maneuver check (assuming you're using a finessable weapon, of course). For other combat maneuvers, you use the normal rule for determining CMB (Str instead of Dex).

The Agile Maneuvers feat applies to all combat maneuvers, not just disarm, sunder, and trip, so it is still a useful option for a Dex-based creature that uses combat maneuvers.

—Sean K Reynolds, 10/03/11

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Let me guess, that false-FAQ came from d20pfsrd.com?


Wow, necro much? Last post before today was February... of last year.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Attack action", and where's the FAQ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.