Touch of Evil + Smite Good Question


Rules Questions


I'm sorry if this has been covered before. I tried searching but had no luck.

If I am an Anti Paladin that takes a level of Cleric for the Evil Domain and uses the Touch of Evil granted power and follows up with Smite Good the next round, is the Smite Good wasted?

Does the Smite Good just last until the Touch of Evil wears off or does it last until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the antipaladin rests and regains his use of this ability?

Thanks!


ButtePirate wrote:

I'm sorry if this has been covered before. I tried searching but had no luck.

If I am an Anti Paladin that takes a level of Cleric for the Evil Domain and uses the Touch of Evil granted power and follows up with Smite Good the next round, is the Smite Good wasted?

Does the Smite Good just last until the Touch of Evil wears off or does it last until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the antipaladin rests and regains his use of this ability?

Thanks!

Touch of Evil is for 1 attack once a day, iirc.

Smite good lasts until the target is dead or you rest for 8 hours.
I don't see why they can't stack.

Silver Crusade

ButtePirate wrote:

I'm sorry if this has been covered before. I tried searching but had no luck.

If I am an Anti Paladin that takes a level of Cleric for the Evil Domain and uses the Touch of Evil granted power and follows up with Smite Good the next round, is the Smite Good wasted?

Does the Smite Good just last until the Touch of Evil wears off or does it last until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the antipaladin rests and regains his use of this ability?

Thanks!

Well, if he has only 1 level of Cleric, his Touch of Evil only lasts 1 round, and would wear off at the beginning of his next turn. So, in your example round 1 he touch of evil and then as a swift action Smites good. So, technically at this point he hasn't wasted it, but if the target isn't actually good, then as soon as touch of evil wears off, I'd say the smite good is suppressed unless he touch of evils again. Either way, it's pretty pointless IMO.

Silver Crusade

Kryzbyn wrote:
ButtePirate wrote:

I'm sorry if this has been covered before. I tried searching but had no luck.

If I am an Anti Paladin that takes a level of Cleric for the Evil Domain and uses the Touch of Evil granted power and follows up with Smite Good the next round, is the Smite Good wasted?

Does the Smite Good just last until the Touch of Evil wears off or does it last until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the antipaladin rests and regains his use of this ability?

Thanks!

Touch of Evil is for 1 attack once a day, iirc.

Smite good lasts until the target is dead or you rest for 8 hours.
I don't see why they can't stack.

Also requires your target to be good. When the "good" wears off, smite good should wear off, or at least suppressed.


Nevermind. I overlooked this part: "Creatures sickened by
your touch count as good for the purposes of spells with
the evil descriptor."

Since Smite Good isn't a spell with the evil descriptor, it wouldn't work anyway.

Silver Crusade

ButtePirate wrote:

Nevermind. I overlooked this part: "Creatures sickened by

your touch count as good for the purposes of spells with
the evil descriptor."

Since Smite Good isn't a spell with the evil descriptor, it wouldn't work anyway.

Oh yea, I didn't even catch that. Smite whatever is a supernatural ability, not a spell like.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch of Evil + Smite Good Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.