"1" on Confirmation Roll


Rules Questions


Is that an automatic "non-confirmation"? Even if the confirmation roll (a "1") would otherwise be a hit?

Sovereign Court

Yes, that is an automatic non-confirm. Then again, if you're hitting on a 1, you probably don't need a crit to kill.

Grand Lodge

It's an attack roll, so, yes.


Along the same line, is a 20 on a confirmation an auto-confirm, even if it wouldn't otherwise hit the AC?

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

Sizik wrote:
Along the same line, is a 20 on a confirmation an auto-confirm, even if it wouldn't otherwise hit the AC?

Likely, but then how did you hit the target in the first place?


Lord Fyre wrote:
Sizik wrote:
Along the same line, is a 20 on a confirmation an auto-confirm, even if it wouldn't otherwise hit the AC?
Likely, but then how did you hit the target in the first place?

perhaps because a natural 20 always hits regardless of AC?


Lord Fyre wrote:
Sizik wrote:
Along the same line, is a 20 on a confirmation an auto-confirm, even if it wouldn't otherwise hit the AC?
Likely, but then how did you hit the target in the first place?

I am assuming he got a critical threat, but rolled a 1 on the confirmation.


To clarify extended crit range weapons do not crit if that attack roll does not hit the required ac unless its a natural 20

I would say RAI a Nat 20 followed by a nat 1 would be an auto hit with a auto fail on the crit

bow to the randomness of the dice

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / "1" on Confirmation Roll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.